Candied Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This is one of our favorites! I have found through trial and error, it is better baked in the oven rather than the slow cooker. Oven cooking gives it more of a "candied" apperarance, whereas the crock-pot version is more watery. If you want to try it the oven way, just well-grease a 13 X 9 dish and bake at 350 for 90 minutes, stirring after every 30 minutes (or until it's as done as your family likes it. My husband prefers it a little dark.) Don't be afraid to try this recipe; it's really easy and nearly everyone who tastes it, just loves it! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
The first time I tried this recipe, I enjoyed it, but it was a little too sweet for my taste, and not spicy enough. When I made it again last night, I cut the brown sugar down by at least half, increased the horseradish by 75% or so, and added Dijon mustard, barbecue sauce, Worchestire sauce, and a taste of tabasco sauce. Mmmmmm, yummy! It's delicious! My coworkers all want the recipe. I think another key is to make sure your kielbasa slices are nice and thin. I didn't enjoy it as much the first time I made it when I sliced the sausage too thickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Wow, was this YUMMY! Being a Polish girl, I never had kielbasa this way! lol I read the reviews and grilled my kielbasa lightly on the BBQ so that fat would not drip into the crockpot. (I love my kielbasa BBQ'd). Then to my dismay, I discovered that my husband used the last of our horseradish! I didn't want to substitute but I had to use horshradish sauce. Luckily, some other reviewers had done the same and said it turned out great. Well, I have to agree. The sauce was NOT liquidly or runny from too much fat...the horseradish sauce still gave it a nice zing without too much heat (even my six year old son loved it). Just a delicious way to prepare kielbasa. We always grill kielbasa for appetitizers at parties and I was thinking of even making the sauce and serving it on the side for dipping. The combination of the smoked, garlicky kielbasa and the sweet/tangy sauce is sooooooooooooo good! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Very easy - my husband loved it. I read all the previous reviews and decided to make the following adjustments - used only 2/3 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup ketchup and 1/4 cup BBQ sauce, sprinkle of dried mustard, a few shakes of Worchestershire sauce, and as directed 1/4 cup of horseradish. Yes, you must slice the sausage very thin for the best results. I cooked on low for about 2 1/2 hours and it was wonderful. If I took this recipe to a pitch-in I would at least double it and probably triple it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
I brought this to the fireman's potluck steakfry this past weekend - my crockpot was practically licked clean! I recieved rave reviews from everyone!! A great recipe Nancy - I'll be sure to bring it to several other events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Made this with Boar's Head Horseradish Sauce instead of plain horseradish because I didn't have have any and halved the sugar. It was sweet enough. Also, I did it on the stove top and it turned out fine. This is also a great sauce to use for those little cocktail weiners you heat in a chafing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Awesome appetizer! I really thought it might have too much horse radish in it, but that was not the case at all. We served this for the Super Bowl and just loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
This was good after 2 hours, one hour on high and one on low. A previous reviewer said they left it on low for 6 hours and it was great. I left it in for about 6 hours and it was so gross. The crockpot was filled with grease and the kielbasa was way overcooked. I should have turned it off after 2 hours and then reheated when I was ready to serve. The sauce has a very interesting flavor but it never got thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYHOLLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I made this last night for a gathering. I'll admit that the ingredients scared me a little at first (and before baking it tasted quite spicy!) but it mellowed quite nicely when it was cooked. I chose to bake this first for about an hour, stirring every 20 minutes, and then transferred to a Crockpot. I also added in about 1/4 cup of BBQ sauce and a few splashes of Worstershire. The end result was fabulous and SO EASY! Happy to add this to my arsenal of potluck recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORGGIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnson, Vermont, USA
Living In: Underhill, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Football Sunday guys loved this! I added extra horseradish for more zip. I loved the ease of this! Thanks Nancy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candied Bacon

See how to make bacon even better.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States