Candied Garlic Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Two pounds of wings is not enough to necessitate the use of a 9 x 13 dish. Nor is it enough to require such a large amount of sauce. If I were to make this again, I'd either use 4 or 5 lbs. of wings or halve the sauce and cook it in a smaller dish. Also baking them on the rack charred them. Not cool. Won't be doing that again. On top of all this, they are merely mediocre in terms of flavor. Wish I loved these like so many others seem to. C'est la vie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Added a little orange juice to the mix and it was great!! I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good I added sweet chili sauce and just marinated the wings for a few hours. I then used a rotisserie and didn't add anymore sauce. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I think the only reason I would give this 3 stars is because I changed the recipe. This is VERY sweet and tastes like you soaked the chicken in a bowl of honey. Which, well, is pretty much the case. We added crushed red pepper, shriracha pepper sauce, and garlic salt to counteract all the honey. Not sure I will making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was really good!!! I also added worchestire sauce and balsamic vinegar to mine and these wings were sticky sweet and sooooo good!!!!! I will be making these for a potluck later this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiRiFan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
this was absolutly awesome, just make sure the dish you bake in is high sided, it boils over and makes a nasty, sticky mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I only added 1 cup of honey.. a lot more garlic then called for.. I seasoned the chicken first with Goya adobo, sason, garlic powder and cayenne... word of advise.. I made these in 2 pans.. the non stick pan burnt the sauce.. the other one.. didnt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I always like to keep to the recipes on here - at least to rate, then I tweak if necessary. Had to give a 3 as is...way too sweet but worked as a nice starting point. I cut the honey back to 1 cup. added rice vinegar (really helped to add tang and balance the sweetness), toasted sesame oil, crushed red pepper, cayenne, more garlic, and a couple of dashes of Mongolian Fire Oil. Instead of cooking in the oven, I first grilled the wings which gave them an added smokiness. I then marinaded them for a few hours and threw them in the oven about 45 min. They turned out fantastic! Took them to a party and everyone loved them! Told me I have to call them Pamela's Ninja Wings. Will customize and add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Photo by atrublkqueen
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were very good! Served it with fried rice! Definite keeper & I will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrublkqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Great marinade. I used only 1 cup of honey as that's all I had and found it a good balance between the sweetness and the saltiness of the soy sauce. I also added 2 teaspoons of minced ginger for some zing. Was delicious with skinless chicken thighs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States