Candied Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Boyfriend was looking at the ingredients as I was mixing and he swore this wasn't going to taste good but we were both pleasantly surprised. I only left out the mustard (didn't have any) and left off the pineapple rings, and this came out very nice, not too sweet and very flavorful. Definitely make sure you have enough sauce for rice! My only issue is not with the sauce or flavor but the breading- If I'm going to fry chicken I usually coat it in eggs before dredging the chicken in bread crumbs, flour, etc. The recipe didn't call for eggs so I decided to go by the book and dredge the chicken without eggs, but the coating didn't hold up well in the frying pan and a lot of it came off the chicken, so next time I'll coat in eggs first like I usually do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I thought this was way too sweet. My kids didn't like it either. It might be good with less sugar. I may try to make it again but I will change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giad27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The sauce was good when made with the pineapple juice, but I would definitely take out the oregano - it clashes terribly with the flavours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I cheated and coated raw chicken breasts with shake n' bake and then poured the sauce overtop. This came out so tender and yummy! Served with rice and steamed broccoli. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I cut the brown sugar way down to 1/4 cup and replaced the water with pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was great. It remember me of Empress Chicken from the Chinese restaurant. Like some others noted, I reduced the cooking time in half, and it turned out perfect. I served it with the sauce spooned over brown rice. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guntersville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
The only reason I made this was because of all the positive reviews and the fact that I had everything in the recipe in the house. I was very pleasantly surprised and my husband liked this. It makes plenty of leftovers too. The only thing I might modify in the future is the amount of brown sugar. The sauce is extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yummy! Really enjoyed this spicy, sweet sauce. I also added a little hot pepper flakes to give it an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
i would give this 5 stars but i cant because the grated onion messed this whole recipe up..it leaves too strong of an onion flavor...if u like that then its for u..but next time i will leave out the onion or cut it back to maybe half a teaspoon or season my chicken with onion powder...everything thing else about this was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We had a family dinner with 10 people and everyone enjoyed this. There were 3 grown men and 3 small kids and it was a hit with everybody. I am really glad I found this recipe. I used tenderloins instead of breasts and only baked them for about 20 mins. after cooking in the skillet. I also poured a can of pineapple chunks with the juice over the sauce before baking and that was really good. The sauce never got sticky, it stayed pretty thin. But that was fine since I served this with jasmine rice and spooned the sauce over the chicken and rice together. My sis-in-law and I both thought it was a bit sweet so next time I will cut back a bit on the brown sugar. Both husbands though clearly expressed how much they loved it and wouldn't mind if we made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States