Candied Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This is the most amazing recipe on this site. I make it ALL the time and have never failed to get compliments. Here are my successfully tried changes (makes it a little easier): Use dried minced onion instead of fresh grated. Like many other reviewers, I replace half (or more) of the water with pineapple juice -- yum -- and I use pineapple chunks instead of rings, added to the pan in the last ten minutes of baking. One time, I was making this for company, and already had all the chicken in the pan with the sauce, ready to go in the oven, when I decided I didn't have enough chicken, so I took some raw pieces and breaded them, and threw them in, hoping for the best. In the end, we liked those pieces better (they're softer), so since then, I always skip the frying step -- it's a lot easier, and one less dish to wash. Another tip I read in the reviews was the cut the cutlets up into smaller pieces -- this really makes it good. Make a lot of extra sauce and serve over rice. You won't regret making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Where do I start? I have some issues with this recipe...First, when it came out of the oven, it looked and smelled great - couldn't wait to try it. But, the chicken just didn't taste very seasoned. I think it needs to be seasoned enough on its own because it just tasted like plain chicken smothered with the sweet sauce. Second, the cooking time : there is no way in HE-double hockey sticks this chicken could stay in the oven for a full hour, especially after already being in the pan for 7 minutes! I left mine in for no more than 25mins (granted I halved the recipe) and it was overdone. I'd say check it to make sure the juices are clear, but even my super slow oven would've completely ruined the chicken after an hour. I will consider making this recipe again because it is so asthetically pleasing, but I will make big seasoning changes and obviously alter the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I was really not into making this. It just didnt appeal to me really. But, I was looking for something the kids would like and I had all the ingredients on hand. This was a huge hit at my house! After a week of nearly having to force my 8 year old to eat dinner.. I was thrilled to see him eat every single bite on his plate. I served it with white rice. The breading was soggy, and I dont know how to get around that. I thought about leaving it off the next time, but it really does have nice flavor. Even if it was soggy, it tasted good. It is a bit on the sweet side, but in a good way. Will be keeping this one. I would be giving it five stars, if it wasnt for the soggy breading. Which didnt bother anyone but me.***after making this for several months as a regular around here, I can highly recommend not covering the dish. It comes out much less soggy, and the sauce thickens up***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I skipped the dredging and browning on stove top, pounded the chicken breasts to about 1/2 inch thick and seasoned with the oregano, salt, ground black pepper, then followed the recipe for the sauce. I baked it for 25 minutes and it turned out very tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
The sauce really reminded me of your typical American General Tso's chicken sauce. If you added in some dry chilli peppers or just a few pinches of cayenne, I bet the sauce would be just perfect. If you want to make chicken that has the consistency of Chinese chicken, do the following. 1. Cut your chicken (breasts or thighs work) into cubes. 2. Put them in a bowl with egg, s&p for 15-30 min. 3. Put a ton of Cornstarch on a baking tray and spread it out. 4. Batter each piece of chicken and deep fry them at about 375 till golden brown. From there you can just add the sauce any old way... throw it in a sautee pan with the chicken and bring the sauce to a boil... it'll latch right on to the chicken. Serve with yummy eggrolls and Mike's Hard Lemonade. (if you want a good eggroll recipe, just ask).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
My husband and I absolutely loved this recipe! I halved the ingredients for just the two of us and baked the chicken for 1/2 hour and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
After seeing all of the rave reviews on this one, I decided to try this dish. It took quite some time to prepare and I followed to directions to the letter. The end result was not what I was expecting. It had an odd taste. It was horribly sweet with the pinapple and the glaze on the top and just didn't go well with chicken at all. And the oregano that was put in the breading definately did not go with the sweetness of the glaze either. Maybe it's just me, but I didn't like this dish at all. I ate one piece and threw the rest in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I thought this was good. After reading the reviews, I skipped on breading the chicken and just floured it. I also halved the sugar and I'm glad I did because it was still a little sweet in the end. I didn't have any pineapple on hand and I think it would've been an excellent compliment to the dish. I served this over rice with spinach on the side and it was a nice change. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is the best chicken I've ever had! It seems like a lot of work, but it's really easy. Instead of using water, I used the pineapple juice from the sliced pineapples. It gave it a little more flavor and it turned out EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I love this recipe! It is great with rice or cream potatoes. I love to cook it when i have guest over. I use shake and bake for the bread crumbs this makes it crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States