Candied Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight for my family. It was only slightly above average. I halved the recipe and then followed the recipe with minimal changes. I added sauteed bell pepper and onion in to the chicken, which I cubed for faster cooking and also pre-seasoned with Mrs. Dash, garlic powder and black pepper. I lessened the sugar to 1/2 cup since it had been reviewed as too sweet. I also thickened the sauce with a cornstarch and water solution (based on other reviewers saying the sauce was too thin and my own experience of it looking a bit watery). With the smaller pieces of chicken, I only kept it in the oven for 10 min as most of the cooking was done on the stove. In the end, I found the sauce much too sweet, even with the reduced amount of sugar. My husband and my toddler both seemed to enjoy it though, which is why I give this recipe 3 stars instead of 2. I may make it again, but even less sugar will need to be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was devoured and my 6 year old requested I cook it every night! I only added about 1/2 a cup loosely packed brown sugar, used 1/4 cup pineapple juice and 1/4 cup water, cut the chicken into smaller pieces and only had Italian panko bread crumbs. I omitted the oregano because of the seasoned bread crumbs. I did brown the chicken pieces then cooked uncovered for about 25 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I thought this was really good. I made just a few small changes....I didn't use bread crumbs, just floured the chicken lightly. I also omitted the oregano and left the chicken uncovered in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Great recipe. Everyone at home loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, New York, USA
Living In: College Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time tonight, and yummy...yum yum!! Here are a few suggestions I used, and that we loved. I did the sauce as directed, and added a few dashes of cayanne. As for the chicken,(I used 3 chicken breasts) I took another reviewers suggestion and 1.)Cut chicken breasts into cubes and placed them in a bowl with two beaten eggs, salt & pepper(to taste). Allow the chicken to sit in egg mixture 15-30mins. 2.) Take a cookie sheet(or baking sheet)cover with foil, and spread a decent amount of cornstarch on it and bread your cubed chicken pieces. 3.)Deep fry chicken pieces at 375 degrees until golden brown. 4.)Allow chicken to de-grease on a paper-lined plate. Now bring sauce to a boil and add fried chicken pieces and allow the sauce to adhere to chicken in boiling sauce for 10mins or so. I served the chicken over sticky rice/sweet rice with pineapple chunks....and fiancee licked the plate clean!! It is one of our favorite new recipes, and look forward to making it many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
YUM-YUM I MADE 3 CHANGES I ADDED MINCED GARLIC, 1/2 CUP WHITE WINE-GERMAN MOSEL RIVER, [NO SALT-1 teaspoon GORDON FOOD SERVICE-GFS-Chicken Base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wow. We all loved the Candied Chicken Breasts over rice with lots of fresh pineapple. Glad it made a few cups of juice since I added more chicken to assure leftovers. Didn't cook more than 45 min. though since already fried (used Coconut oil) it seemed to be boiling in juice. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The sauce was good, but the oregano added a strange flavor. I would try again without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was a big hit. Reading reviews I chose not to fry briefly. Save time save clean up. I used a mix of regular bread crumbs and panko. I cut breasts into strips as one person said in her review. Strips made serving a lot easier, as some wanted a lot, others wanted smaller portions. Strips also made more servings. For the sauce (oh so good) I used about 1/3 c. honey with ½ a tablespoon of brown sugar (I had a small amount of honey I wanted to use up). Next time I will make a lot more sauce, and use more onions. The sauce was so good – plates were totally cleaned. I will add some extra sauce and mix into the rice next time. I don’t think you can overdo serving this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States