Candied Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Yummy! Really enjoyed this spicy, sweet sauce. I also added a little hot pepper flakes to give it an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
i would give this 5 stars but i cant because the grated onion messed this whole recipe up..it leaves too strong of an onion flavor...if u like that then its for u..but next time i will leave out the onion or cut it back to maybe half a teaspoon or season my chicken with onion powder...everything thing else about this was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We had a family dinner with 10 people and everyone enjoyed this. There were 3 grown men and 3 small kids and it was a hit with everybody. I am really glad I found this recipe. I used tenderloins instead of breasts and only baked them for about 20 mins. after cooking in the skillet. I also poured a can of pineapple chunks with the juice over the sauce before baking and that was really good. The sauce never got sticky, it stayed pretty thin. But that was fine since I served this with jasmine rice and spooned the sauce over the chicken and rice together. My sis-in-law and I both thought it was a bit sweet so next time I will cut back a bit on the brown sugar. Both husbands though clearly expressed how much they loved it and wouldn't mind if we made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. Tasted like Chinese food. Used a little more than a cup of brown sugar and it was still a bit too sweet. I used spicy yellow mustard and it gave it a tiny little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I tried a version of this recipe based on a suggestion from another review. I used chicken tenderloin and cut into cubes, soaked in eggs beaten, battered in lots of cornstarch, then fried in veg. oil. Poured sauce from this recipe on cooked chicken and served over rice (no pineapple) and it was just like it came from the Chinese restaurant. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really liked this recipe. Like others, I substituted most of the water for pineapple juice. I made 5 servings (used only one baking dish) and put it in the oven for 15 minutes. I then dumped in my full can of pineapple chunks, covered it, and put it in for another 7 minutes. Then, I put it back in, uncovered, for another 5 minutes. You could probably just keep it covered the whole time, but I think uncovering it got the pineapples cooked a little more, which I enjoyed. I think it would have been even better if they'd been grilled beforehand. I think one of the bigger things I'd change next time is that I'd dip the chicken in egg or egg wash before dredging it in the bread crumb concoction. It friend up fine, but after I took it out of the oven, the seasonings basically just fell off because it had nothing to stick to. Still, I totally disagree that the pan frying step should be skipped. It helped season the chicken really well. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This turned out really good. I think it tastes a lot like good General Taos Chicken...or good enough. I skipped the frying step and just coated/cooked with the sauce. I made it with crushed pineapple (because it was all I had) and it turned out great. DH has requested it several times. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Awesome taste. Did 8 large breasts, next time do not make as much coating mix, had enough for 2 batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious. The only thing I didn't use was the pineapple rings. Otherwise I cut everything in half. (We didn't need 10 breasts..) Wonderful, my husband loved it. It's going into the rotation. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States