Candied Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Omigosh, this is such an amazing recipe. I got better satisfied faces from my family than with anything else I ever made. I do not like white meat chicken, but I loved this. I used crushed stovetop instead of bread crumbs, and used what was left in mashed potatoes. I also cooked Swiss Chard greens and ribs. It was a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gatene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
WOW this is great - I cut chicken into tenders and added a dash of cayenne, and used apple juice instead of water this tasted like General Tso's chicken at your local chinese restaurant only better. Really really yummy Also I left the foil off and turned the chicken 1/2 way and the chicken was perfect and the sauce thicken really nice. Cook time is off though so watch it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
omg, I've never seen such a collection of licked-clean plates!! Very delish and I agree it is worth it to fry the chicken first. What I changed - 1/2 way through baking time I added 3 chopped peppers (1 red, 1 yellow, 1 orange). Also added pineapple 10 minutes before end of cooking. Used one whole fresh pineapple, could have used less. I also agree that the oregano isn't quite right - with such a tangy sauce, I would eliminate it entirely. It is not needed. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
The sauce in this recipe is GREAT. I tried it both ways, I breaded and browned the chicken as the recipe called for and I skipped the browning another time. Both were great. Browning the chicken makes for a more appealing look. The only reason i did not give this recipe five stars is becasue this recipe is best eaten right away. If you leave the chicken to sit out for too long the chicken becomes dry and the sauce is sucked uped by serving time. In this case I made a second batch of sauce and left on the side for people who needed extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Love this recipie. Its pretty easy and it tastes SOOOO good! Didnt change anything. I make this about 1 per wek we love it so much! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACYNDIG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I am quite sure I reviewed this about 8-10 years ago, but cannot find it to revise. SO- -I will write a new one. I have been making this for some time and from the beginning decided that pan frying it before baking was an unnecessary step. Recently, I decided breading the chicken and baking was as well. What it has evolved to in my house is more of an american chinese dish. I cut the chicken breasts into chunks, dredge in seasoned flour and pan fry till brown. I remove the chicken from the pan and mix in the ingredients for the sauce, reducing the sugar, mustard, and ketchup quantities, replacing water with pineapple juice, and adding an overflowing teaspoon of Tiger sauce and pinch of Five Spice powder. When that is blended and boiling, I add just under a bag of broccoli stirfry veggie mix, heat through and return chicken to pan. When chicken is cooked through, I serve over brown rice. Works for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Boyfriend was looking at the ingredients as I was mixing and he swore this wasn't going to taste good but we were both pleasantly surprised. I only left out the mustard (didn't have any) and left off the pineapple rings, and this came out very nice, not too sweet and very flavorful. Definitely make sure you have enough sauce for rice! My only issue is not with the sauce or flavor but the breading- If I'm going to fry chicken I usually coat it in eggs before dredging the chicken in bread crumbs, flour, etc. The recipe didn't call for eggs so I decided to go by the book and dredge the chicken without eggs, but the coating didn't hold up well in the frying pan and a lot of it came off the chicken, so next time I'll coat in eggs first like I usually do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I thought this was way too sweet. My kids didn't like it either. It might be good with less sugar. I may try to make it again but I will change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giad27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
The sauce was good when made with the pineapple juice, but I would definitely take out the oregano - it clashes terribly with the flavours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I cheated and coated raw chicken breasts with shake n' bake and then poured the sauce overtop. This came out so tender and yummy! Served with rice and steamed broccoli. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States