Candied Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
These were delicious. I made them ahead of time by boiling them, draining the water and adding the butter and brown sugar. I didn't add any pepper. Before serving, I put them in the oven to warm them up and thicken the sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
I steamed the carrots instead of boiling them. Instead of turning the heat to low after adding the sauce ingredients, I recommend turning the heat up a bit and cooking until the sauce reduces and carmelizes...just be sure to stir it frequently to keep it from burning. This way all the good sauce stays on the carrots instead of in the pan. I also added a pinch of crushed red pepper...I like a sweet/hot combination. Really very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Great recipe! I left out the pepper and added a little cinnamon instead. It was a huge hit and is sure to become a staple at the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYDBURT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eastanollee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I used baby carrots for this recipe. I really liked the taste of the glaze but wish it had been a touch thicker. I guess that could be accomplished with a pinch of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Made these for this years Thanksgiving dinner. Sauce was a little runny so I added a little corn starch to thicken it up and that seemed to work. I also added a few drops of honey cause it just seemed to lack a little something to me. Recipe didn't specify which type of brown sugar to use so I used dark but next time I will try light brown. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plains, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have been making this for a year on this website. I just now finally signed up to rate this. THIS IS THE BEST Carrot recipe EVER! I highly recommend. Shortcuts I make are using bagged cut up carrots, I microwave them, then put them in a pan with the butter and brown sugar. I do not add any of the other ingredients.. I just keep it simple and they are always eaten up! Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Love these carrots! I nuked mine in the microwave to the desired done-ness, then added the brown sugar and butter for another minute or two. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
It certainly doesn't get much easier than this. Tasty and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I used baby carrots and they cooked according to directions perfectly. A very good recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Delicious! You may want to increase the quantity, though - 2 adults and a 2 year old finished it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States