Candied Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Candied bacon is exactly right! It took an hour to get to the point of doneness in my photo, and that was turning it up for the last 15 minutes. I did everything that was listed in the recipe, and the results were worth it. Interesting. I had a package of bacon that weighed 1.25 pounds, and half I used for this and half I fried as usual. The ingredients for the candied part was just right for that amount of bacon. The saltiness of the regularly fried bacon was so pronounced after tasting the candied bacon! We had friends over for brunch, and the guys preferred the regular, but we gals loved the candied. We were thinking of cutting the bacon in half, skewering it on pretty little sticks, and serving it for a party. Trust me, it would be a hit! Thanks again, as usual, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Double this recipe or you will cry because you run out of delicious candied bacon and you will want MORE! Any thick cut bacon works great. I followed another reviewer's tip of doubling the maple syrup the second time I made this recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Photo by alyssa719
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so delicious! Sweet (not too sweet), and full of bacon-y goodness!! I used about half a pound of bacon, and it disappeared (between me and my fiance) within 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is great and I like it a lot better if it is done on a smoker with hickory smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've done this without the liquids, just with the bacon, brown sugar and black pepper. In that instance, known as PIG CANDY! Great warm, or if you have any left over, cold. YUMMMMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is great. I am making maple cupcakes and using this on top. It is great all by itself though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Love, love, love it!! The rice vinegar is the greatest touch! - Cheryl Baan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious! I doubled the maple syrup as was suggested by other reviewers. I also had to use almost 2 batches of glaze while cooking my bacon. This was kind of a high maintenance recipe because of the flipping/basting every 5 minutes, but man, was it worth it! I cut it up in bit-size pieces and took it to a party. It was awesome to see people's eyes get wide when they tried it and say, "Oh my god!" and "Holy **, that's good!" I would definitely make this again-- it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEENYBO
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was a huge hit at our Super Bowl party - the guests didn't even wait till half-time, they just ate it as soon as I came in the door! I ran out of glaze, but just let it bake a few more minutes until it was nice and brown. Remove from the rack as soon as possible because it will stick. I did not have rice vinegar (forgot it on my list) so I substituted apple cider vinegar with favorable results. Also, putting parchment paper on my baking pan helped minimized the cleanup. A winner in our book and we will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEENYBO
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Candied Bacon

See how to make bacon even better.

How to Make Homemade Bacon

See how to make homemade bacon without curing or smoking.

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States