Candied Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Candied bacon is exactly right! It took an hour to get to the point of doneness in my photo, and that was turning it up for the last 15 minutes. I did everything that was listed in the recipe, and the results were worth it. Interesting. I had a package of bacon that weighed 1.25 pounds, and half I used for this and half I fried as usual. The ingredients for the candied part was just right for that amount of bacon. The saltiness of the regularly fried bacon was so pronounced after tasting the candied bacon! We had friends over for brunch, and the guys preferred the regular, but we gals loved the candied. We were thinking of cutting the bacon in half, skewering it on pretty little sticks, and serving it for a party. Trust me, it would be a hit! Thanks again, as usual, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Double this recipe or you will cry because you run out of delicious candied bacon and you will want MORE! Any thick cut bacon works great. I followed another reviewer's tip of doubling the maple syrup the second time I made this recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Double the maple syrup mixture and use the bacon Chef John uses because it lays flat nicely and you won't run out of the mixture when you coat the bacon every 5 minutes; Other wise, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've done this without the liquids, just with the bacon, brown sugar and black pepper. In that instance, known as PIG CANDY! Great warm, or if you have any left over, cold. YUMMMMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is great and I like it a lot better if it is done on a smoker with hickory smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pat G
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I added a little extra brown sugar, so the mixture was more of a paste than a glaze. This is the best bacon I've ever had. I'm going to be making this for every party until pigs go extinct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyssa719
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so delicious! Sweet (not too sweet), and full of bacon-y goodness!! I used about half a pound of bacon, and it disappeared (between me and my fiance) within 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Amazing a must try, made this for fathers day and bagged 4 pieces tied with ribbon and attached to a bottle of beer for the godfathers, so cuute and the godfathers raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious! I doubled the maple syrup as was suggested by other reviewers. I also had to use almost 2 batches of glaze while cooking my bacon. This was kind of a high maintenance recipe because of the flipping/basting every 5 minutes, but man, was it worth it! I cut it up in bit-size pieces and took it to a party. It was awesome to see people's eyes get wide when they tried it and say, "Oh my god!" and "Holy **, that's good!" I would definitely make this again-- it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is a disaster. The candied bacon might taste really good, but I don't know, because it's been cooking already for about 1.5 hours and it's nowhere near brown and crispy. I've already made 5x the recipe's quantity of maple syrup mixture, and I keep running out. I'm about to run out of brown sugar and maple syrup, so I might have to just finish baking it without continuing to baste, because I won't be able to make any more syrup mixture. Also, the maple syrup mixture keeps dripping to the bottom. More of my mixture is ending up on the bottom of my catch tray than on my bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Bacon

See how to make bacon even better.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States