Candied Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Double the maple syrup mixture and use the bacon Chef John uses because it lays flat nicely and you won't run out of the mixture when you coat the bacon every 5 minutes; Other wise, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Candied bacon is exactly right! It took an hour to get to the point of doneness in my photo, and that was turning it up for the last 15 minutes. I did everything that was listed in the recipe, and the results were worth it. Interesting. I had a package of bacon that weighed 1.25 pounds, and half I used for this and half I fried as usual. The ingredients for the candied part was just right for that amount of bacon. The saltiness of the regularly fried bacon was so pronounced after tasting the candied bacon! We had friends over for brunch, and the guys preferred the regular, but we gals loved the candied. We were thinking of cutting the bacon in half, skewering it on pretty little sticks, and serving it for a party. Trust me, it would be a hit! Thanks again, as usual, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Double this recipe or you will cry because you run out of delicious candied bacon and you will want MORE! Any thick cut bacon works great. I followed another reviewer's tip of doubling the maple syrup the second time I made this recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Photo by alyssa719
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so delicious! Sweet (not too sweet), and full of bacon-y goodness!! I used about half a pound of bacon, and it disappeared (between me and my fiance) within 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is great and I like it a lot better if it is done on a smoker with hickory smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peculiarmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Peculiar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've done this without the liquids, just with the bacon, brown sugar and black pepper. In that instance, known as PIG CANDY! Great warm, or if you have any left over, cold. YUMMMMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I rated this recipe already, but wanted to clarify: I originally gave it 3 stars as stated in my review. However I reevaluated my decision and changed it to 4 stars which I think was more fair for my experience with this recipe. I liked the outcome of it-the candy bacon comes out tasty- it was just a lot of work to do, as you have to constantly baste the bacon. I may experiment with this recipe some more, but I am also interested in looking at others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChaoticBlu

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wanted to make it easier, quicker, and less mess so tried with precooked bacon - hormel from costco. Placed aluminum foil on baking sheet for easy cleanup. Basted bacon immediately then baked and basted every five minutes until desired crispness - it does crisp up more as rests. May baste less often if don't want it too sweet. Turned out great even though thinner than original recipe. Husband and boys loved it. Will stick to rack if leave on too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The sweet and savory flavors make this one highly addictive recipe. I've made it a few times now, and have used it a lot on sandwiches, but sometimes it's just been really nice to get a strip out of the refrigerator as a snack. If I have any suggestion, I'd say start with thick-cut smoked bacon. Thin cut and maple flavored bacon weren't quite as balanced. I also like it with 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper mixed in with the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is great. I am making maple cupcakes and using this on top. It is great all by itself though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Bacon

See how to make bacon even better.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States