Candied Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
WOWZERS!!!! I made two packages of this for a party and they were all gone within 30 minutes. Everyone loved them! Took some time to make and my house smelled like bacon for a week but SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is pretty awesome! I started out with making the recipe exactly as it states. Then made it by doubling the maple syrup as some have suggested. This is totally a preference thing as I enjoyed it more just the way the recipe is and my son enjoyed it with more syrup. One thing I did differently is I cut the bacon in half. First it helps with flipping and second you can have more pieces thus feeling more satisfied. The bacon darkens up once it's out of the oven. I also found that doing light basting of the syrup mixture worked better both in keeping the syrup on the bacon, having less drip into the pan, and I never ran out at the end of a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Amazing a must try, made this for fathers day and bagged 4 pieces tied with ribbon and attached to a bottle of beer for the godfathers, so cuute and the godfathers raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Made these on a Big Green Egg, smoked with apple chunks at 325 deg. I used thick slices, indirect cook with bacon on porcelain grate over a drip pan. Let the sauce start to caramelize and thicken before turning and it will reduce waste. By doing this the sauce proportion was about right for the amount of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
SWEET! I used regular sliced bacon instead of thick slice. There was just enough mixture. It took me 5 coatings and they were done as they were thinner. I didn't have any maple syrup so I used a recipe from this site called "Homemade Maple Syrup" and it was perfect. Thank you Chef John for another wonderful recipe. I can always count on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
A co-worker previously made this recipe & it was delicious! I wish I had read some of the reviews as I probably needed double the sauce & more cooking time. However, it was still quite delicious less crisp & everyone ate it up at the Mothers Day brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I followed the instructions for the most part and it turned out fantastic! I used thin cut bacon and twirled it as I was laying out on the cooling rack. I ended up baking it for around 20 minutes at 375 degrees-I did not turn it. The one thing I really should have done was line the cookie sheet. It is a sticky mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I used Kuntzler bacon, my favorite and much more meaty than Oscar. This took a lot longer, so I mixed up some additional sauce. At the end I ran out of sauce, turned up to 400 degrees and it was perfect. Chef John, I love you and my Wife is jealous. Keep up the wonderful work, as you are turning me into a Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Delicious! Used this for a candied bacon shortbread cookie I was playing around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Bacon

See how to make bacon even better.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States