Candied Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Alli Shircliff
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This was worth all the basting ;) It was the first thing to go at a brunch this morning. Tastes like a bacon donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pat G
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I added a little extra brown sugar, so the mixture was more of a paste than a glaze. This is the best bacon I've ever had. I'm going to be making this for every party until pigs go extinct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is my 3rd time to make this bacon and it's fantastic! Mine took longer, but I do get a thick cut bacon from my meat market. It's dangerous stuff for sure, I could eat a pound or more of this stuff. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
WOWZERS!!!! I made two packages of this for a party and they were all gone within 30 minutes. Everyone loved them! Took some time to make and my house smelled like bacon for a week but SO worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is pretty awesome! I started out with making the recipe exactly as it states. Then made it by doubling the maple syrup as some have suggested. This is totally a preference thing as I enjoyed it more just the way the recipe is and my son enjoyed it with more syrup. One thing I did differently is I cut the bacon in half. First it helps with flipping and second you can have more pieces thus feeling more satisfied. The bacon darkens up once it's out of the oven. I also found that doing light basting of the syrup mixture worked better both in keeping the syrup on the bacon, having less drip into the pan, and I never ran out at the end of a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Amazing a must try, made this for fathers day and bagged 4 pieces tied with ribbon and attached to a bottle of beer for the godfathers, so cuute and the godfathers raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Made these on a Big Green Egg, smoked with apple chunks at 325 deg. I used thick slices, indirect cook with bacon on porcelain grate over a drip pan. Let the sauce start to caramelize and thicken before turning and it will reduce waste. By doing this the sauce proportion was about right for the amount of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
SWEET! I used regular sliced bacon instead of thick slice. There was just enough mixture. It took me 5 coatings and they were done as they were thinner. I didn't have any maple syrup so I used a recipe from this site called "Homemade Maple Syrup" and it was perfect. Thank you Chef John for another wonderful recipe. I can always count on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Bacon

See how to make bacon even better.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States