Candied Apples III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is the first time I have ever made candied apples. Recipe was easy, first batch turned out perfect. Only recommendation, is make sure you use your candy thermometer, and do exactly what the recipe temperature says. Second tip, take a cookie sheet, and smear butter over the entire pan, then placed candied apple on pan. When pan is full of your beautiful apples, store in the refrigerator over night. Crunchy beautiful apples to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I love this recipe! I make it every Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIE6208

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Good but was so hard to get the candy to stay coated on the apples, no matter how uch I scrubbed off the wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I did not care for this! no way it will make 12 apples and melting the candy is tough. I give it a thumbs down. I will never use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and candy coating never hardened and just seemed to drip to the bottom of the apple and all over the pan. There was only one apple that sorta hardened. the flavor was good and reminiscent of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
this was pretty good but the outside was very hard. we had to use sharp knives to cut through it. also if you are planning on making 12 servings then you need to add about 1c more red hots and even if you are following the recipe add at least another tbsp of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Verry Good! I added vanilla extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These are the real deal - the ones you find at County Fairs - bright red with a hard shell! Some caveats - 1. it takes about 20 minutes get the candies melted and up to 310 degrees (i.e. the hard crack stage) and 2. as you dip, you run out of candy, and what is left behind cools and won't turn around the apples well. I would suggest that you DOUBLE the recipe to fully coat 12+ apples. and 3. SPRAY the waxed paper with PAM oil before you put the apples on or the wax melts to the apples. Not sure I'd make these again given the time it took but if you like candied apples this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe, but I changed a few things and have a few tips to make your apples incredible! First, you need a sweet and CRISP apple to get a good result here. I used Honey Crisp apples and got compliments at the Halloween Potluck I took these to about how good the apples were. I used 2 bags of cinnamon disks, double the water and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon extract as my cinnamon disks didn't seem to be quite fiery enough; not like red hots at least. I found that it takes some time to melt this down and before you get there they all combine into a huge piece of hard candy. It was at this point I got nervous, but just keep stirring and eventually you will have everything melted. I used a candy thermometer after all was melted and turned up the heat to reach 300 degrees. When you reach the 300 degrees, it will be a bubbling couldron of candy and will have expanded a bit. Turn off the stove at this time and start your dipping. You will get a gorgeous glossy candy coating that when set will be hard. With the 2 bags this yielded 7 large apples. This will be my go to recipe for candy apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States