Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was a exellent recipe it was easy and fun. The apples turn out great. I used the kool-aid (cherry) but only very little of it and it turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Excellent...made the recipe as is and the results were great only recommendation is don't use large pot to cook mixture in...the smaller the pot the easier it is to coat the apples!! Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I didn't have a thermometer so I just made sure to stay close to the pot. Once it started to thicken visually I tried dropping a little into a cup of cold water. I did this a few times a few minutes apart until it hardened in the water. DO NOT USE KOOLAID!!! I tried it despite somebody elses warnings. It was burnt tasting and cough syrupy. But when I tried it again without it it turned out GREAT. I used green food coloring with granny smith apples. Looked fantastic and tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
The taste was good but the directions where not specific enough for how long to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magical Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Well i was very excited about this recipe, the came out looking great, bright red and shinny, but the candie was so hard that we couldn´t bite into it. i don´t know what went wrong or are this the way they are supposed to be? because i remember they where like chewy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Awesome Recipe! I have made so many batches I can't even tell you how many. I have made them for boy scouts, friends, neighbors, meetings and everyone that has a pot luck is now asking me to bring them! I too kept stirring and it didn't thicken so thank you to those who said "don't stir". For Xmas we wax paper wrapped them with ribbons and gave them as gifts to neighbors. thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
was lacking some authentic candy apple flavor. still looking around for a good recipe. good if you just want a red sugar candy coated apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great Recipe, thanks to those who said not to stir!!! I was stirring and thought I was doing or did something wrong because it wasn't thickening! You really saved my behind! Although, the recipe didn't say to stir, I just "assumed". so good recipe! and thanks! yeh, it was great to know you could also add food coloring before it was done, I had a hard time checking the clear mixture. also, used some cadies to roll them in like crushed candy canes mmmmmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I acutally made these one Halloween and had trick or treaters come back again this year requesting them! I do find however that I could only make half of the apples that the recipe says it makes before I ran out of candy coating and I did use medium apples. They set VERY quickly so if you're going to roll them in anything for a coating it must be done super quickly or it's too late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. It forgets to tell you not to stir. and the candy turned out too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States