Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Ahhhhhh great so easy and fun! very tasty I did add some cinnomon and it gave a nice kick to it :) this is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
They were as great as I hoped!! I did 1/2 red & half blue. Thanks for sharing!! Make sure to remove from hea before adding the food coloring or your syrup will burn. Learned the hard way. Also, adding a little marichino cherry juice to the mixture will give it a subtle but nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great Recipe, so easy to make... Adults and kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abraham Yaksich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I recommend reading the reviews to help with tips and tricks, especially if you are not familiar with making candy. I followed the recipe and just left it clear to try it out. I prefer the red cinnamon flavor, so my next batch will be flavored. I was totally happy with the recipe the way it is written. The only tip I have was, cut some wedges so you can use up the leftover.. and when the temp gets up to about 270 degrees, turn the heat down cause it shoots up fast after that. Awesome candy apples!! No mess no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleylucas21
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I wish I had read more of the reviews before starting this - it took me much longer than I would have liked because I kept stirring instead of letting it boil straight for 20-30 mins. I added cinnamon and vanilla extract - and once everything was in order, they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleylucas21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is a great recipe, although you will not get anywhere near 15 apples..... maybe 6 large ones or 10 small. Stir it as little as possible, use a candy thermometer if you've got one, otherwise, keep a cup of water next to the stove to put a couple drops of the mixture in to see if you get those hard, brittle threads! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Great recipe strictly followed melted sugar temperature with candy thermometer, just completed dipping my first batch of apples. Turned out just like in the fair. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I tried this recipe, and it failed miserably! My coating never got hard, and it just made a sticky mess! I will never make this again. I agree with other reviews that some of the steps are missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The candy wasn't thick enough to coat the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These Candy Apples turned out beautiful, and the candy tastes wonderful! It takes a LOOOONNGG time to cook it to hard crack stage, but the result is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States