Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I love this recipe it turned out great i added flavored extracts, different color dyes and also used kool aid to flavor the candy. Fantastic. One thing to keep in mind when making candy is the weather it turns out best when made on a sunny day with not much humidity. Elevation may also effect your candy. Also having a candy themometer is great cause temperatur can also be the difference betwwen hard candy and mush. Oh and remmeber to really wash your apples to remove all of the wax that store chains apply to them to make them look shiny as well as cleanse off the apples natural oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiresholmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Not sure what happened but I cooked to recipe and the candy never hardened enough. Big mess :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe and loved it! I would suggest that you buy a candy thermometer (cheap at Walmart) because it does make a difference. I've tried to make these before and was unsucessful to say the least.... After using the thermometer I realized that I wasn't cooking the mix long enough. It takes 20 plus minutes to reach 300 to 310 degrees. They really do taste like apples you get at the fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My mom always told me that recipes like this should be made on a day when it is not raining. If the weather is humid or rainy, the candy coating will not set up properly. It is soft or tacky. This also goes for making peanut brittle or divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made these candy apples twice....The first time I made them I didn't have a candy thermometer. Let me say, big mistake!!! But once I sprung for one and made a batch, it was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ke3515

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Wish I had a candy thermometer because they were a but sticky not "Glassy" But it never affected the taste one bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made these for my 73 year old mother who once told me she loves candied apples from the fair but not the "fake ones with cinnamon". She called me to tell me these are just like those from the fair and that she loved them. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I think this recipe would have been totally awesome if I hadn't burned it! I burned it real good because I wasn't confident with it, but next time I hope it goes better. It smelled just perfectly yummy up till I burned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I followed the directions and the glaze never dried on the apples, it just dripped off. I washed any wax off the apples first and dried them thoroughly but the glaze wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I didn't find that these apples were as tasty as the ones you can get at the fair and I didn't find them to be worth the trouble. I also suggest doubling the recipe because I only had enough for half and putting it in a warm bowl of water as someone suggested is a must !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States