Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
It stuck to everything! i will never get all of this mess cleaned up!! Otherwise is was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I've used this recipe three times - ding chopped candy canes at Christmas and cinnamon hearts for Valentines. The recipe is always successful, but I increase the quantities about x.5 for 15 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It's the first time I tried this recipe, It didn't come out that great the mixture wasn't thick enough i don't think i cooke it long enough it started to boil & it took it off the heat but i will get a candy thermemtor & try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe a week before Halloween.. it was my first time making candied apples... the apples i puchased were sweet and delish. the best thing you can do is go and buy a thermometer to get the right temperature, I got mine at BB&B for $10, the deep fryer one. my kids and I made about 2 dzn. candy and 1 dzn. caramel.. i love this recipe, its simple and worth trying. after i shut the stove off, i left the pot on the stove to keep the mixture warm. I also added coconut flakes and crushed peanuts to the caramel.. yummm.. Also, its very important to wipe off the wax of apples, if not the mixture will slide off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendy3290

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
loved it. cooked sugar at 4 on electric stove. no higher, turned down to 2-3 at 275 on thermometer. was ready in about 5 minutes after that. put pot into pan of hot water that i had ready, dipped apples. only did 6, rest of candy was to hard to roll by then. I added about 3 drops of pure mint/peppermint extract and the 16 or so drops of the red food colouring. candy is crisp and slightly minty and very good. used couple grannies and some royal gala. apples now resting. perfect day for it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Just attempted this recipe in preparation for a bake sale that I am doing later in the week. I only did half, and I was able to coat 3 medium apples, a bunch of grapes I had in my fridge, and still had some left over to pour on a baking sheet. I estimate that half would have covered around 5 apples or so. One slight change I made was to add a dash of cinnamon oil. Super tasty, can't wait to try out my cherry flavouring! SO simple to make.. put ingredients into pan, stir to combine, then sit and wait for the temperature to rise! No need to stir or do anything until you hit 300 and add in your food colouring/flavouring! Clean up tip: fill your candy saucepan with water, and place on stovetop to boil. Voila! 10 minutes and your hard candy coating is gone! **Edit: Just tried it out with cherry flavouring on Granny Smith Apples: AMAZING. The full recipe made about 12 apples for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made these for my family last weekend. They turned out so good that I will have to make for the neighbor kids for Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WaLkSwItHmOoN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Toney, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I'll have to make these again. My first batch turned out gooey and the candy never fully hardened. I cooked it for over 45 minutes and since it was my first timewashed unsure what I was looking for. I kept doing the cold water test and it looked fine enough so i dipped the apples. It wasn't until AFTER I dipped all the apples and didn't see it "hardening fast" as other commenters had mentioned I figured maybe it needed to cook a little longer. I turned it back on and cooked it some more (15m) & didn't see much change so I decided to give up. By the time I decided to dump the stuff sure enough it hardened right in my pot. :-/ So I was stuck with a bunch of gooey apples. I think the recipe was good? But the instructions were a bit vague for first time makers. I didn't know about not stirring it after the mixture started to boil either...the recipe should've mentioned that. Overall I give the recipe 4 stars (it needed more food coloring for that beautiful red I was looking for and the taste was missing something not sure what). And 2 stars on instructions. I think after u get the process down right it'll be a good recipe overall. I'll try again tmrw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great recipe. I looked over the reviews before cooking, so I knew how to make it work for us. Don't stir the mixture after boiling begins and let it cook on medium heat for at least 15 minutes before dipping the apples in. I turned the pan sideways and rolled them to cover as much as possible. They have to set awhile in a cool, dry area (couple hours at least) and do not refrigerate them while setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow! I have never made candy apples before,and they came out perfect when i cookedto 300 degrees. The coating tastes like cotton candy,but not too sweet. yum. The only thing, is it does set extremely fast! I definitely recommend using another pot of boiling water underneath to keep it from seizing up before you get your apples done. My last couple apples have big globs of thick sugar on some sides, and strings of sugar, but they still taste great, but not as perfect looking as the first 6 looked while it was still hot,een though i dipped fast. I added the food coloring at the hard ball stage and let the boiling mix it in on its own, and used 14 drops as someone else suggested. And if you have extra mixture, scrape it out with a silicone spatula onto the parchment and break it up into hard candy. Definitely will make again. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States