Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nina
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love this recipe and I us the look aid pack it tasted so yummy I'm proud of myself my sis did most of the work and we had enough to even make a lollipop thanks for the recipe I wi differently try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fudge Fanatic
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Like others said, a good candy thermometer is a must! I have a digital one that works like a charm. The apples must be thoroughly washed and dried prior to using. The ability to work quickly is a must as it does harden easily but softens if you put it back on the stove. I added a bit of Lorann Oils raspberry flavouring and they were amazing! This is now my go to candy apple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made your Candy Apples thank you so much for this easy recipe my Kids Grand kids , Great Grand Kids and their friends love the candy apples . Everyone want to fix more for the family when they come for Thanksgiving. I was trying to send pic I could not get it small enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
OMG!!!! They were very chewy couldn't really enjoy the candy apple because of that very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Welch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I've been making a version of this recipe for almost 50 years and my mother used to make 150 at a time for Hallowe'en. The trick is, and it's missing here, is to add a teaspoon of vinegar to the candy at the very end, when it reaches hard crack stage. Don't stir the mixture while it's boiling until it reaches this stage. Then stir in the vinegar and start dipping the apples. This step keeps the candy hard and is crucial to a good candy apple. Also, we use regular corn syrup, not the light AND we did not use any water in our recipe, it doesn't need it. We decorated the apples with cut gumdrops to make faces. Our house was the most popular one in town solely because of our candy apples. After reading my review, I realize my version is quite different. I should just submit my own. Oh well, use my version if you like, it's been tried and true for many, many years. My apologies to those people who don't like changes to a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I've been making candy for years now, including peanut brittle and candy apples....the most reliable way of cooking candy is to use a candy thermometer. You need to work fast so have all your ingredients and utensils close at hand. Make sure apples have been washed thoroughly to remove wax; wash with tepid soapy water, rinse and dry completely. If not, candy will not stick to them. Next, you need to stir sugar mixture constantly until it dissolves and comes to a boil; after that, you can leave it alone but stirring it occasionally doesn't change the outcome. Watch your thermometer closely; the first time I made candy apples, I cooked to hard crack (300 degrees) but found its way too hard...like teeth breaking hard. Now I cook to just above soft crack which is 280-290 degrees; so I mean cook to like 285. Much more edible at that temp. but thats personal preference. You can add any extract flavours you like; found at most specialty or bulk stores. Finally, once you reach the crack stage your looking for, do immerse the pot in a large pan of boiling water to keep the candy hot enough to work with until your done dipping. I just use my kitchen sink! I give these out at Halloween...the first 30 kids anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Note: the mixture is ready when a drop of mixture is dropped into cold water and it hardens . It's not a recipe you can rush nor leave unattended for a long period of time. Another hint: DO NOT STIR MIXTURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Drknyt
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I substituted 4 cups of "Fire Sticks" candy for the sugar and corn syrup. The medium sized apples were well covered and came with a very pleasant "kick" of cinnamon flavor. The red color was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rand Gloger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Plenty of flavor. I also made this recipe to the "T" and turned out great. Made 2 batches one this way & the 2nd one I added some cinnamon flavoring. YUMMY!! I sprinkled some powdered sugar on bottom of wax paper to have it come off better. Worked pretty good for me... To the haters, stop being so rude & mean to people when they are just sharing a recipe. If you didnt like it, say "it wasnt for me, thanx anyway". Didn't you grow up to have manners & be nice to people??? This recipe is deffinetly a keeper. Thanks for sharing Jonar!! .... Tim & family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States