Candied Apples II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Terrible---no taste, and too hard. I followed the recipe to the tee. Don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Ok recipe but sometimes it doesn't make enough to cover all the apples. The Kool-Aid flavoring isn't a good idea. I used various candy oils to flavor them and also tried the candy red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I tried this recipe. ..and it was my first time ever making candy apples... I read the review from the 11 year old and thought if she can do it... I can....and I did...my grand daughter and her friend will enjoy them at her birthday party...this is an easy 5 star recipe.I added a few cinnamon heart candies to punch up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Came out great, HOWEVER... before removing from heat, start swirling the apples in the mixture while the sugar mix is still warm. If the sugar cools it will harden immediately and you will end up with a gooey mess that wont stick to your apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeexScience
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved the recipe, but used half a pack of cherry kool aid instead of food colouring and found it tastes exactly like the fair! Had some left over and made lollipops. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
It stuck to everything! i will never get all of this mess cleaned up!! Otherwise is was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I've used this recipe three times - ding chopped candy canes at Christmas and cinnamon hearts for Valentines. The recipe is always successful, but I increase the quantities about x.5 for 15 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It's the first time I tried this recipe, It didn't come out that great the mixture wasn't thick enough i don't think i cooke it long enough it started to boil & it took it off the heat but i will get a candy thermemtor & try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe a week before Halloween.. it was my first time making candied apples... the apples i puchased were sweet and delish. the best thing you can do is go and buy a thermometer to get the right temperature, I got mine at BB&B for $10, the deep fryer one. my kids and I made about 2 dzn. candy and 1 dzn. caramel.. i love this recipe, its simple and worth trying. after i shut the stove off, i left the pot on the stove to keep the mixture warm. I also added coconut flakes and crushed peanuts to the caramel.. yummm.. Also, its very important to wipe off the wax of apples, if not the mixture will slide off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendy3290

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
loved it. cooked sugar at 4 on electric stove. no higher, turned down to 2-3 at 275 on thermometer. was ready in about 5 minutes after that. put pot into pan of hot water that i had ready, dipped apples. only did 6, rest of candy was to hard to roll by then. I added about 3 drops of pure mint/peppermint extract and the 16 or so drops of the red food colouring. candy is crisp and slightly minty and very good. used couple grannies and some royal gala. apples now resting. perfect day for it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States