Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I doubled the recipe, needed a big batch in a hurry and added 1 tsp of Cayenne for a bit of heat...worked very well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
The recipe works well the way it is, but here is an added twist to this recipe - I once cooked the almonds too long past they're dry and the sugar started melting and turned into hard caramel (I originally thought that they were not dry enough because the looked wet). I lifted the almonds, spread them out on parchment paper, and waited for them to dry up and harden. You must spread them while they are hot, otherwise they will clump together and there will be no way to separate them. Anyways, this surprising outcome was amazing - I started making hard caramel coated almonds and they went out in a snap. A problem with this is that the sugar started burning pretty quickly (then you get burnt caramel - not so good). So if you are going to try this, be careful, use low heat, and be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very addicting!!! Made a few adjustments though... Used brown sugar instead of white and added nutmeg and ginger. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent recipe! I added a little vanilla and honey to the mix...extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luckytruck6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
We have three almond trees and this recipe is fantastic. I did roast the almonds before using them in this recipe. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this just like the directions said. Once it got to the syrupy stage, I poured it on a cookie tray and let it cool and it kinda came out like brittle, which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Tastes just like the nuts they sell at the vending carts in manhattan!! A quick little munchie dessert that only got one saucepan dirty. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made these for neighbors this Christmas. I mixed almonds and pecans and added about 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper to cinnamon mixture. After I spread the nuts on the baking sheet to dry, I sifted a bit of unsweetened chocolate powder over them. Yummy! The layers of flavor were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
These are so good. I had old almonds that I could not bring myself to throw out.....so I thought I'd give this recipe a try! So glad I did! It does take forever to make it look like dry sugar but they turn out so well the stirring is worth it. I did add a cap full of vanilla to water/sugar when I started. Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Absolutely yummy! Came out perfect the first time. Followed the recipe exactly. These will make a great addition to my goodie boxes I'm sending out for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States