Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very neat and easy! I did do three cups almonds and one and a half cups of sugar, 3/4 cup water, and to take it to the next level,, mmmmm,,, add 1/8 teaspoon of mexican chilli powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Soo easy to make! I used walnuts(trying to use them up). The process was very easy and I followed the recipe, but used 3 cups of walnuts. I also sprinkled some salt and added vanilla to the mixture, right before all the liquid was evaporated. I am going to get some almonds and make some more cinnamon nuts! Yummy! UPDATE: Just made almonds and they are delicious! Just like the ones you purchase at fairs or markets! Love this recipe. I USE 3 CUPS OF NUTS AND IT WORKS PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
great! the perfect recipe so easy and quick and I agree you have to cook till all the liquid is gone then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallmall76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I had a bag of almonds that I found in the pantry and really craved a sweet snack. I remembered saving this recipe, so I tried it.I added a bit of salt to make it salty sweet. Lets just say I only got to eat a handful. The family gobbled up the rest in no time flat.So easy to make and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very good! Mixed them with pretzels for a thinner coating- YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Thanks to everyone for emphasizing COOK UNTIL ALL OF THE LIQUID IS GONE. dELiCioUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Pretty good, something different. I halved the recipe and added 1/8 tsp ground chipolte powder. If I was to try this recipe again, I'd definitely add a bit more chipolte powder, maybe 1/4 tsp. Any heat that was there was outweighed by the cinnamon sugar. And WOW are these nuts SWEET!! But I guess that's what you get with candied almonds haha. I was looking for a recipe more close to what an old family friend referred to as "Vodka Nuts" Unfortunately, this recipe wasn't similar enough so the quest continues. I also sprinkled a little salt on the nuts after I separated them. I let the syrup reduce down as much as possible before adding the almonds. I think this really helped the almonds from getting soggy. As others have posted, it is so important that you reduce the syrup as much as possible or you will end up with mushy almonds. I boiled down the syrup and almond mixture until the sugar started searing to the pan and that seemed to be the perfect time to remove them from the heat. Separating the almonds on the wax paper was very easy and made clean up easy. All and all this recipe is very versatile and forgiving so I think it is worth the try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millie201188

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Delicious! I added 1/4 tsp each of salt and cayenne, and followed the cooking directions exactly, and they turned out perfectly crunchy with a hint of spice. I will totally be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Overall a good recipe. You get a good taste of the cinnamon, and it makes a sweet snack. You really have to cook out all the liquid, or else it will turn out almost soggy(that is how I cooked mine. I won't make that mistake next time.) It is very easy to make, so I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good alternative to plain old nutss. I followed the directions exactly but still cae out with a too soupy syrup. Even after cooling the nuts remained too stickey. Liked the flavor although would have prefered less cinnamon. Won't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States