Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Didn't turn out quite as pretty as the pictures that were posted...more like an almond brittle. But reading through some of the other reviews I may not have cooked the mixture long enough. At the time I was afraid that I was cooking it TOO long. I'm about to try a 2nd batch to take over to a friends house, so it'll be trial and error. Regardless of the cooking time, it tastes awesome! Also, added about a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just finished up a double batch. My almonds were already toasted so I boiled the sugar syrup down, tested it on the wax paper to make sure it would "set" and then I added my almonds. The mix went from syrup to sugar nuts in about 30 seconds! I poured the nuts onto the wax paper and separated them apart with forks as much as I could but as soon as the nuts were cool enough to handle I broke the remaining clumps up with my hands. *Do NOT touch the nuts when they are hot!!* This is going to be a Christmas gift to a few lucky people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Easy, and GOOD! Just make sure you read the other reviews. You have to keep cooking it until all the liquid is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTNROO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. My daughter and I made a few batches to give as Christmas gifts to co-workers. After they cooled we scooped them into small gift bags and tied pretty ribbons to the bags. As I read on other reviews, the almonds have to stay cooking on stove until the mixture is dry! The house smells wonderful!! Thank you DarlaJo! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Followed advice of other raters, and it turned out really well. This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe. It only takes about 10 minutes to fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rubydancer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Super easy! I made this with pumpkin seeds and they are soo good. We munched, put on top of muffins and sprinkled on salad. I will definately make again with any nuts we have on hand. THANKS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My husband came home with a three pound bag of almonds from Costco and I was thinking what ever will I do with this! I tried this recipe and it was quick and easy. I thought it was very good but I would like to add a little vanilla next time and maybe brown sugar. I felt like it was missing a little something but I will definately use it again. Atleast now I can use up some of those nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I used Sugar in the Raw for this recipe and loved it. Per the photo, you shouldn't stop when there is a syrupy coating on the almonds - stop when the coating turns crumbly. It still sticks to the almonds, but not to your fingers. We used the nuts as well as the extra crumbles on the bottom to top vanilla ice cream and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States