Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE these! I did as suggested by a couple of others and made sure the liquid was gone and boy oh boy does it go quickly when it does! I also added a splash of vanilla and used brown sugar to get the molasses taste. Will do it this way again. I think I will be adding this to our Christmas gift giving. :) Thanks so much for sharing! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I hate this. Tried it twice. First batch came out sticky. Second time omg, they stuck to pan, house full of smoke, I was wanting these so bad.WILL NOT TRY AGAIN !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Chapman
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Reading the other reviews really helped me but also scared me at the same time. I read some that said the sugar burnt even with constant stirring. The main thing is to wait until all the liquid is gone and the sugar has crystallized. Constantly stir! Once you have reached the thick gooey syrup like consistency within minutes it crystallizes. It was my first time making these and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Fantastic simple recipe... My favorite version of this is to use almond slivers with none of the dark shell. I stir over high, then medium heat not only until all the liquid is dry but until it toasts the almonds with a golden brown color. THEN I serve these over a dollop of home made vanilla whipped cream on top of an almond creme brulee. Delicious crunch that really elevates a variety of desserts as a topping or garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Turned out fantastic. I also read all of the reviews and it helped with the "coating" process. I also added nutmeg and cloves, it made my kitchen smell like autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
These turned out great. I only made 1/4 recipe since I needed a handful for a salad. I took a shortcut on these to save time and to keep my house from getting too hot in summer. I toasted the nuts in a non stick pan (don't use non stick for full fledged candy making!) and meanwhile boiled the sugar and water in a glass measuring cup in the microwave for a few minutes until it got very thick and slightly yellow. I sprinkled cinnamon on the nuts in the pan, then poured the sugar mixture over the nuts. It only took 60-90 seconds for the nuts to get the white cruncy coating others described. Very simple for occasions you don't have prepackaged candied nuts onhand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Wow. I've never made candied nuts before, but I've always liked the Nutty Bavarian almonds. It's been a while since I've had them so I can't say with much confidence how they compare to this recipe, but YUM. Followed the advice of other reviewers and let ALL of the liquid disappear before cooling almonds. Used white and brown sugar, and added cayenne pepper which made them DELICIOUS! I didn't measure the cayenne, but I will say that the liquid tasted much spicier than the finished product, which is ok because they are a-mazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I just made these for my husband and daughter. They LOVE them! Now I can save my self a small fortune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These are delicious! They are just as good as the ones we get from a street vendor or at the fairgrounds. As other reviewers said, be patient. I stirred constantly for at least 10 minutes and then the consistency changed almost instantly from a syrup to a powder. The kids will be asking for these all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States