Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Misty W
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I did it with walnuts and didn't cook it quite long enough but they were still pretty good! Today I used pecans, a tiny bit less water and sugar and cinnamon and added a pinch of ginger! Awesome! ( I was doubling the recipe and that's why I cut back a bit). Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe!! It is important to cook them till almost ALL liquid is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The best recipe for candied almonds. My only suggestions are to use either parchment paper or grease a pan it will be easier to break them apart. If you use wax paper put in the microwave to loosen from it. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Would have been delicious if I had not followed one user that said to cook for 30 mins. DO NOT DO THIS. It will burn them. Just cook until there is no liquid. If you cook too long it will get soupy and burn the almonds. Would have been delicious if not for burnt almonds. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
You cannot go wrong with these yummy treats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Reese Nagel
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
So delicious! Follow the other reviews, cook until ALL water has evaporated! The recipe made me think I had to take it off sooner. I waited though and it became a thick syrup and when the almonds started clumping together, rather than settling right away into the pan like when it was soupy, I knew it was done. BIG HIT!! Very easy, will make again. I think I would roast the almonds next time, prior to putting them in the pot with the sugar. This would bring more flavor and a better crunch. Maybe I would even broil them for a minute or two after they have the sugar coating to provide extra crunch too. Either way, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is simple and easy but gets difficult when it gets to the end. Everything is well explained but once you get the the water being all gone if you don't get it out of the pan at the right time, good luck getting them out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
After reading other reviews I was nervous about making sure ALL the liquid was gone...& in the process my candied almonds taste burnt. :( SO- make sure you lower the heat to med low AND get them out of the pan as soon as the liquid is absorbed- the almonds will be covered in a pasty, chunky 'gunk' (it's more delicious then it sounds!) w/ no 'liquid' in the pan but the gunk is still moist. The gunky coating is pretty thick so next time I'm going to use 3 cups of almonds & add cayenne to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I think this works better if you bring the sugar mixture to the soft ball stage BEFORE adding the nuts. It is difficult to keep the mixture from burning if the nuts are added too soon. I tried doing this both ways. On my stove using my candy thermometer it took about 8 minutes on medium high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was surprisingly easy to make and I am *so* grateful for all of the readers' comments -- thanks for the tips, everybody! Yes, it is easy to get nervous near the end of the cooking stage, but definitely wait until the sauce *completely* evaporates in the pan and crystalizes onto the almonds. And that's when you know they're done! The sauce will transform from liquid to syrup to stringy to ready. Next time, I will follow someone else's tip to bake the almonds first (8min at 400) for that extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
These were amazing. The trick really is to keep stirring and waiting it out until the liquid evaporates. It really does work if done correctly. They were a hit at our Christmas parties. :) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States