Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
SUCH a hit! Just like the ones you get at a fair or fall football game. The advice from all the reviews was crucial! I definitely thought I did it wrong when I was making it, but here are some things I learned: - use roasted nuts, rather than raw nuts. Raw nuts are good too, but roasted gives more crunch in your end product. - stir until all the liquid is gone. This means all the "goo" is gone. The sugar will begin to get REALLY hard to stir, then will become powdery again, and That's when the liquid is gone. - stir vigorously towards the end. It might take a while - don't make more than double the recipe at once. It becomes SO HARD to stir and will take forever to make. - add some other spices to it. I think I added cloves and pumpkin pie spice. Yum! - use a sifter and dust powdered sugar over the nuts when they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Gives a sweeter kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Slemrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I added 1additional cup of almonds. For me that was plenty enough sugar to almond ratio. Soooo easy and one not too many people make it seems. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So delicious! Best recipe I could find for candied nuts. I have used this recipe to make other nuts as well. Also brewed blueberry blacktea and used that for the 1/2 cup water, added a dash of vanilla and cut back the cinnamon to 1/2 TBSP - turned out yummy! Great to make before having people over to the house - really warms up the house with a delcious aroma. I also toasted my nuts in the oven as other people suggested. I like the nuts to be a little crunchy otherwise I found them to be too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I loved this! I made them with almonds and walnuts at the same time, delicious! Instead of letting them cool on wax paper, I put them on parchment paper. It worked great! I also tried to use brown sugar, (due to my lack of white sugar) and they turned out perfectly. I don't really understand how so many people had problems. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I just finished making a batch of almonds. I think they're OK, but nothing special. I agree with the former posters regarding the cooking time. If you don't continue to stir through the cooking time, you'll run the risk of burning the nuts, and if you don't keep the pan on the burner until ALL the liquid has evaporated, you'll end up with almond brittle. I also think that it would be helpful to roast the almonds beforehand. I used whole raw almonds and believe they turned out a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed as directed adding a little vanilla and Hershey's cocoa. I found some fire roasted almonds with sea salt. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Ok, so the first time i did this recipe i followed the directions and the amounts exactly and it turned out great! The second time i did it i wanted to make a big batch since i liked it so much and hand it out for the holidays. I quadrupled the recipe and it did NOT turn out. The sugar never crystallized. Anybody have any ideas on what happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS and so easy to make. Told my sister and son about it and they quickly assembled the three ingredients and within a few minutes, they experienced the same wonderful aroma and taste that I did. My sister added a dash of cayenne in one of her batches and was happy with the results. I had purchased a very large bag of almonds from Costco and this made several batches to package, tie with a ribbon and give to friends for Thanksgiving and Christmas. My sister also made batches of Pecans using the same technique. So happy I have this recipe...a great recipe for a beginner trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe just as stated above but when finished I put the almonds in a bowl with 1/2cup brown sugar then covered and shook til all were coated... added an extra crispness to the candy coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Perfect ingredients, but you have to KEEP COOKING it until all the liquid is gone. I made candied nuts years ago while working in a restaurant but forgot the ingredients, so I followed this recipe but continued to cook in the pan until they were done. No need to put on a pan and separate at all. Delicious to eat alone or add to a salad, especially one using fruit with lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States