Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I just finished making a batch of almonds. I think they're OK, but nothing special. I agree with the former posters regarding the cooking time. If you don't continue to stir through the cooking time, you'll run the risk of burning the nuts, and if you don't keep the pan on the burner until ALL the liquid has evaporated, you'll end up with almond brittle. I also think that it would be helpful to roast the almonds beforehand. I used whole raw almonds and believe they turned out a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed as directed adding a little vanilla and Hershey's cocoa. I found some fire roasted almonds with sea salt. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Ok, so the first time i did this recipe i followed the directions and the amounts exactly and it turned out great! The second time i did it i wanted to make a big batch since i liked it so much and hand it out for the holidays. I quadrupled the recipe and it did NOT turn out. The sugar never crystallized. Anybody have any ideas on what happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS and so easy to make. Told my sister and son about it and they quickly assembled the three ingredients and within a few minutes, they experienced the same wonderful aroma and taste that I did. My sister added a dash of cayenne in one of her batches and was happy with the results. I had purchased a very large bag of almonds from Costco and this made several batches to package, tie with a ribbon and give to friends for Thanksgiving and Christmas. My sister also made batches of Pecans using the same technique. So happy I have this recipe...a great recipe for a beginner trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe just as stated above but when finished I put the almonds in a bowl with 1/2cup brown sugar then covered and shook til all were coated... added an extra crispness to the candy coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Perfect ingredients, but you have to KEEP COOKING it until all the liquid is gone. I made candied nuts years ago while working in a restaurant but forgot the ingredients, so I followed this recipe but continued to cook in the pan until they were done. No need to put on a pan and separate at all. Delicious to eat alone or add to a salad, especially one using fruit with lettuce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE these! I did as suggested by a couple of others and made sure the liquid was gone and boy oh boy does it go quickly when it does! I also added a splash of vanilla and used brown sugar to get the molasses taste. Will do it this way again. I think I will be adding this to our Christmas gift giving. :) Thanks so much for sharing! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I hate this. Tried it twice. First batch came out sticky. Second time omg, they stuck to pan, house full of smoke, I was wanting these so bad.WILL NOT TRY AGAIN !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harryhippo
Home Town: Darwen, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Reading the other reviews really helped me but also scared me at the same time. I read some that said the sugar burnt even with constant stirring. The main thing is to wait until all the liquid is gone and the sugar has crystallized. Constantly stir! Once you have reached the thick gooey syrup like consistency within minutes it crystallizes. It was my first time making these and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Fantastic simple recipe... My favorite version of this is to use almond slivers with none of the dark shell. I stir over high, then medium heat not only until all the liquid is dry but until it toasts the almonds with a golden brown color. THEN I serve these over a dollop of home made vanilla whipped cream on top of an almond creme brulee. Delicious crunch that really elevates a variety of desserts as a topping or garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States