Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
For this to turn out, ALL the liquid must evaporate. the mizure turns from liquid to syrup to a stringy consistency, and then crystalizes onto the almonds. Be sure to stir consistently throughout... this process takes just under 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The trick to this recipe is to cook it until there is no liquid. If you get the sticky kind, that means you need to cook it longer. I have made this a many times and came out great!!! I made pecans and almonds to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very simple, easy recipe that produces light, crispy, sugary candied almonds. I'm glad I read the other reviews explaining that the almonds must cook until the water is gone, that is the key to the almonds coming out crispy and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesha79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
OMG-Fantastic and SOOO easy! MAKE SURE that you read the other reviews-thats what saved me becasue I was ready to take them out when they were gooey. KEEP cooking in the pan until the goo is gone and they are nicely "chunky" with the sugar mixture. This was SO good and a huge hit! Great for office presents during the holidays or any occasion. Just add to a cute tine and you are good to go! Thanks other reviewers and thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Spiced nuts are always a hit at holidays, but I use them all year long for toppings on muffins, sweet yeast breads, salads and yogurt. There is a simple trick to making them though. I use a candy thermometer and cook the sugar, cinnamon, and water mixture to the "soft ball" stage, approximately 238 degrees. Then I add the nuts (I use about 3 cups of any kind of nuts I happen to have on hand), and stir vigorously with a wooden spoon until the mixture starts to lose it "shine". (It will look almost "dull") Immediately pour onto a waxed paper lined cookie sheet. My mother used to add nutmeg and cloves to her spiced walnuts. There were rarely any left over after the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Dragée nuts are one of my favorite candies to make. This is a great method for hazelnuts and macadamias, too. I’ve used a recipe just like this, but with only half the cinnamon and using blanched almonds. Cook until the nuts are dry and covered with a bumpy whitish sugar coating. When they're cool, toss them with warm melted bittersweet chocolate and then into a bowl of unsweetened cocoa powder. They should have a hard sugar coating topped with a hint of chocolate and cocoa. (I wear latex gloves when working with chocolate; you can change gloves anytime your hands get chocolatey or sticky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is an AMAZING and simple recipe!! They taste just like what you get at the fall festivals, and are just what I was looking for! As everyone else says, read all the reviews, make sure to cook until every drop of the liquid is gone. It may seem like it's never going to happen, but as soon as it starts, it happens in seconds! Also, if you bake the almonds for about 8 minutes (stir halfway) at 400 degrees, it gives the nuts extra flavor and crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is great. I wish someone has mentioned that I should have lowered the heat before smoking up the kitchen with the burning sugar, though. So, after you add the almonds, lower the heat. Then it turns out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
these are really addicting. I'm not sure if I did it right, but I kept stirring until there was no more liquid. They turned out great, but they aren't glazed and shiney like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
served these for a bridal shower .. huge hit! for an extra zip i added 1/8 tsp chipotle pepper with the cinnamon .. just a slightest hint of hot aftertaste (could definitely use more if you like it hot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States