Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Simply and good. For the people that gave it one star because they failed with Splenda; Don't rate a recipe if you didn't follow it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just finished making these and they turned out perfect! So glad I read the reviews about making sure all the liquid is gone! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Every other batch I make burns. And the last batch woouldn't even crystalize. The sugar got syrupy then it turned grainey, didnt stick to the alomonds very well at all. The burned batches will get to a thick syrup stage and will smell heavenly then suddenly it turns watery and burns. I dont get it! I have wasted like $60 worth of almonds to make this blasted thing for Christmas gifts and still have nothing to show. Im so pissed!! :-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
These almonds are fantastic. I read the hints about cooking and stirring the liquid until it become dry. And that worked. Except I had a very few spots that still looked wet so I thought a little more time would work. Just the opposite happened. They became wet all over again and carmelized into a brittle mess. So, when 95% of the mix is dry just spoon it on the wax paper and it will be amazing. Hope that will help you make this wonderful Holiday gift idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
SUCH a hit! Just like the ones you get at a fair or fall football game. The advice from all the reviews was crucial! I definitely thought I did it wrong when I was making it, but here are some things I learned: - use roasted nuts, rather than raw nuts. Raw nuts are good too, but roasted gives more crunch in your end product. - stir until all the liquid is gone. This means all the "goo" is gone. The sugar will begin to get REALLY hard to stir, then will become powdery again, and That's when the liquid is gone. - stir vigorously towards the end. It might take a while - don't make more than double the recipe at once. It becomes SO HARD to stir and will take forever to make. - add some other spices to it. I think I added cloves and pumpkin pie spice. Yum! - use a sifter and dust powdered sugar over the nuts when they are cooling on the cookie sheet. Gives a sweeter kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Slemrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I added 1additional cup of almonds. For me that was plenty enough sugar to almond ratio. Soooo easy and one not too many people make it seems. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
So delicious! Best recipe I could find for candied nuts. I have used this recipe to make other nuts as well. Also brewed blueberry blacktea and used that for the 1/2 cup water, added a dash of vanilla and cut back the cinnamon to 1/2 TBSP - turned out yummy! Great to make before having people over to the house - really warms up the house with a delcious aroma. I also toasted my nuts in the oven as other people suggested. I like the nuts to be a little crunchy otherwise I found them to be too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I loved this! I made them with almonds and walnuts at the same time, delicious! Instead of letting them cool on wax paper, I put them on parchment paper. It worked great! I also tried to use brown sugar, (due to my lack of white sugar) and they turned out perfectly. I don't really understand how so many people had problems. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I just finished making a batch of almonds. I think they're OK, but nothing special. I agree with the former posters regarding the cooking time. If you don't continue to stir through the cooking time, you'll run the risk of burning the nuts, and if you don't keep the pan on the burner until ALL the liquid has evaporated, you'll end up with almond brittle. I also think that it would be helpful to roast the almonds beforehand. I used whole raw almonds and believe they turned out a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed as directed adding a little vanilla and Hershey's cocoa. I found some fire roasted almonds with sea salt. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States