Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Wow. I've never made candied nuts before, but I've always liked the Nutty Bavarian almonds. It's been a while since I've had them so I can't say with much confidence how they compare to this recipe, but YUM. Followed the advice of other reviewers and let ALL of the liquid disappear before cooling almonds. Used white and brown sugar, and added cayenne pepper which made them DELICIOUS! I didn't measure the cayenne, but I will say that the liquid tasted much spicier than the finished product, which is ok because they are a-mazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I just made these for my husband and daughter. They LOVE them! Now I can save my self a small fortune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
These are delicious! They are just as good as the ones we get from a street vendor or at the fairgrounds. As other reviewers said, be patient. I stirred constantly for at least 10 minutes and then the consistency changed almost instantly from a syrup to a powder. The kids will be asking for these all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Yum! I used walnuts and almonds which turned out great.Even though they are considerably unhealthy, they are a very tasty snack. Next time i need something sweet, im gonna pop a couple of these in my mouth to satisfy my sweet tooth. That way, it'll be low cal compared to most desserts. I'll cook the nuts a bit less though next time, since i honestly liked them semi-sticky and shiny. Thanks Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These nuts taste amazing! I've always been looking for a recipe for candied nuts... i just love candied nuts and this recipe, because it works for all nuts. MAKE SURE YOU READ THE REVIEWS. I thought I had failed when the mixture was all watery, I panicked. But dont give up, keep stirring and itll look just like the picture. Also, if you want to give it that crispy taste to it, back it in the oven again. Its just like the ones they sell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very good- cooked up very quickly, just keep stirring and stirring. We couldn't wait for them to cool down, so we were eating them within 15 minutes of my first seeing this recipe. :) Will make again, maybe adding a pinch of salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
So So Good! I tried with brown sugar and used half the cinnamon and added a tsp each of ground nutmeg, cloves and allspice. I could get fat off of these! They were gone the first night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enoch, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Yummy as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I needed a quick hostess gift for a dinner party. I recommend roasting the almonds first so they will be crunchy. I put mine in the oven @ 350 for about 8-10 minutes and put them in the freezer (5 min or less) to let them cool before starting the sugar mixture. I started the sugar mixture and let it cook till the cool ball stage as another reviewer suggested. After I added 3 Cups of nuts, I reduced the temperature and kept it between medium and simmer. To check the cooking time, I'd pull a nut out every few minutes and place it on parchment paper. Once a nut held the glaze when slightly cooled, I shut off the heat and kept stirring until all the syrup was gone. Then I poured them out on parchment paper and lightly broke them up with a wooden spoon. I put the cooled product in a Ball Jar, tied it with a ribbon and I'm set for my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States