Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jc hammy
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this at 7200 altitude. I just cooked it slow and added salt once the almonds were spread out. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi Richards
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I liked that it was easy, but I had a hard time with the instructions because I wasn't sure exactly when it was completely done. It said to leave a little syrupy coating, but mine didn't turn out like I would have liked with it that way. I read one of the reviews that said to make sure ALL the moisture has boiled out, but mine started to smell burnt, so I turned it off and hoped it was done. I'm afraid it really would have burned on me if I kept cooking it, even turned down. If the picture included with this recipe is what it actually is supposed to look like, mine do NOT look close to that. I decided to get some cinnamon sugar and toss the nuts in a bag with it to coat it a little bit. I'm sure it is wonderful when done correctly, but didn't turn out as well as I would have liked. I also felt like they cooked so much that the nuts are soft rather than crispy. Maybe I'll try it again, but at a lower temp. :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Was thinking about the nuts at Disney and craving them. Ended up on this recipe via Google. I am SO glad I did. I had all the ingredients for two kinds of nuts in my pantry so I did almonds and peanut. Both turned out delicious. I'm thankful I read the reviews because I wasn't sure how dry to get them. I did what the recommendations in the comment sections stated and they turned out fantastic. I can't wait for my husband to get home because these are his favorite and I think I outdid Disney on these. :) Thank you for sharing this amazingly simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Seip- McLean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
So easy & very tasty. I just made these while I'm at home sick---I get bored very easily so I needed to keep myself busy.I kept the recipe just the way it is. Thank you very much DarlaJo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nothing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Terrible. Didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Wonderful! Next time I might add orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
These were delicious! I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and added 1/4 tbs of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I followed directions however this syrupy mess would not crystallize and filled my house with smoke and burn smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
First I tried making these without reading the reviews.... I ended up with a sticky syruppy mess..... I put the nuts back in the pan and kept cooking until literally all the liquid and stringy-ness is gone. They should look dry when they are done. It takes awhile.... but just keep stirring until they are dry. I am using these in a pear arugala sald with chedder, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Oh, bliss! I have an absolute thing about candied nuts so finding this recipe was the best surprise of the weekend! I found all the reviews really helpful. I would add this - you can tell when all the water is evaporated because the syrup starts getting gritty looking around the edge of the pan first, and then the syrup on the nuts suddenly stops looking all glossy and also starts looking gritty/crystallised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States