Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this just like the directions said. Once it got to the syrupy stage, I poured it on a cookie tray and let it cool and it kinda came out like brittle, which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snugabugl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Tastes just like the nuts they sell at the vending carts in manhattan!! A quick little munchie dessert that only got one saucepan dirty. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Made these for neighbors this Christmas. I mixed almonds and pecans and added about 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper to cinnamon mixture. After I spread the nuts on the baking sheet to dry, I sifted a bit of unsweetened chocolate powder over them. Yummy! The layers of flavor were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
These are so good. I had old almonds that I could not bring myself to throw out.....so I thought I'd give this recipe a try! So glad I did! It does take forever to make it look like dry sugar but they turn out so well the stirring is worth it. I did add a cap full of vanilla to water/sugar when I started. Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Absolutely yummy! Came out perfect the first time. Followed the recipe exactly. These will make a great addition to my goodie boxes I'm sending out for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent and so easy. I skipped the cinnamon and cooked the water/sugar syrup until 238 degrees, added 3 cups of nuts, and stirred until they were powdered white in color. Thank you so much for the recipe. These type of candied nuts sell for $5 for just a few ounces at my local store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used this recipe with walnuts. At the same time I tried "Dawn's Candied Walnuts" and used almonds. "Dawn's" won hands down for flavor! (in my opinion and my son's). I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Ive made a lot of batches of this, I've also substituted Pecans and hazel nuts for the Almonds with good success. If you cook the syrup (sugar, cinnamon, water) until it goes from soupy to syrupy and then add the nuts and cook until it starts to clump/all stick together while stirring you should get the right results. I dont use the wax paper, I just dump them from the pan onto a clean cookie sheet/jelly roll pan raised on a cooling rack and let it sit for a minute or 2 before spreading them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
DEEELicious!! I made 1/2 of the original recipe first and they were perfect! I have never had success with the oven roasted cinnamon/sugar ones and this was easy and the way to go! I did another batch with 1 cup of nuts (3/4 walnut, 1/4 almond) and 1/3 cup of sugar and they still came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Fantastic! Followed the suggestions in the reviews about cooking until the liquid evaporated and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States