Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The trick to this recipe is to cook it until there is no liquid. If you get the sticky kind, that means you need to cook it longer. I have made this a many times and came out great!!! I made pecans and almonds to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Very simple, easy recipe that produces light, crispy, sugary candied almonds. I'm glad I read the other reviews explaining that the almonds must cook until the water is gone, that is the key to the almonds coming out crispy and not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leesha79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
OMG-Fantastic and SOOO easy! MAKE SURE that you read the other reviews-thats what saved me becasue I was ready to take them out when they were gooey. KEEP cooking in the pan until the goo is gone and they are nicely "chunky" with the sugar mixture. This was SO good and a huge hit! Great for office presents during the holidays or any occasion. Just add to a cute tine and you are good to go! Thanks other reviewers and thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
For this to turn out, ALL the liquid must evaporate. the mizure turns from liquid to syrup to a stringy consistency, and then crystalizes onto the almonds. Be sure to stir consistently throughout... this process takes just under 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Dragée nuts are one of my favorite candies to make. This is a great method for hazelnuts and macadamias, too. I’ve used a recipe just like this, but with only half the cinnamon and using blanched almonds. Cook until the nuts are dry and covered with a bumpy whitish sugar coating. When they're cool, toss them with warm melted bittersweet chocolate and then into a bowl of unsweetened cocoa powder. They should have a hard sugar coating topped with a hint of chocolate and cocoa. (I wear latex gloves when working with chocolate; you can change gloves anytime your hands get chocolatey or sticky.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
served these for a bridal shower .. huge hit! for an extra zip i added 1/8 tsp chipotle pepper with the cinnamon .. just a slightest hint of hot aftertaste (could definitely use more if you like it hot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Spiced nuts are always a hit at holidays, but I use them all year long for toppings on muffins, sweet yeast breads, salads and yogurt. There is a simple trick to making them though. I use a candy thermometer and cook the sugar, cinnamon, and water mixture to the "soft ball" stage, approximately 238 degrees. Then I add the nuts (I use about 3 cups of any kind of nuts I happen to have on hand), and stir vigorously with a wooden spoon until the mixture starts to lose it "shine". (It will look almost "dull") Immediately pour onto a waxed paper lined cookie sheet. My mother used to add nutmeg and cloves to her spiced walnuts. There were rarely any left over after the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I chopped these up and served on a salad .... very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for! They are like the almonds I get at the Renaissance fair. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
It was SO EASY, SO Delicious, and the perfect hostess gift for the holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States