Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I needed a quick hostess gift for a dinner party. I recommend roasting the almonds first so they will be crunchy. I put mine in the oven @ 350 for about 8-10 minutes and put them in the freezer (5 min or less) to let them cool before starting the sugar mixture. I started the sugar mixture and let it cook till the cool ball stage as another reviewer suggested. After I added 3 Cups of nuts, I reduced the temperature and kept it between medium and simmer. To check the cooking time, I'd pull a nut out every few minutes and place it on parchment paper. Once a nut held the glaze when slightly cooled, I shut off the heat and kept stirring until all the syrup was gone. Then I poured them out on parchment paper and lightly broke them up with a wooden spoon. I put the cooled product in a Ball Jar, tied it with a ribbon and I'm set for my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
You must cook until the sauce literally turns to dry crumbs that coat the almonds. It will happen, be patient! Also, I used natural almonds, but they turned out a little soft (although the coating was nice and crunchy). I think I will try roasted almonds next time and add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I don't know if this recipe was meant for a higher altitude or what, but I tried this recipe twice and it failed. note that this was after using another recipe my first time and having it turn out perfect, but I lost it. I think the problem is that this recipe calls for too much water. The sugar syrup will start to burn before enough water evaporates to candy the nuts. Water evaporates different at different altitudes so maybe this is just a problem at sea level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe didn't work for me. I didn't let all the sticky stuff evaporate, just the liquid like the recipe states. I wish I read more of the reviews or remembered what I read. They tasted great with the glaze while warm but by the time they dried they were stuck to the wax paper and immovable. It was disappointing. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Very easy and tastes like what you buy at the fair! One point I would make, is that, just as a previous review had stated, mine suddenly began to turn back into a sugary powder, at which point, I immediately took it off the heat and dumped them onto my cookie sheet. They did not stick together, or to the sheet (which by the way, I used parchment paper instead of wax paper.) The magic moment of thickening is QUICK. Try this recipe, just find that critical moment between final thickening and sudden powdering. LOL! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Didn't turn out quite as pretty as the pictures that were posted...more like an almond brittle. But reading through some of the other reviews I may not have cooked the mixture long enough. At the time I was afraid that I was cooking it TOO long. I'm about to try a 2nd batch to take over to a friends house, so it'll be trial and error. Regardless of the cooking time, it tastes awesome! Also, added about a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just finished up a double batch. My almonds were already toasted so I boiled the sugar syrup down, tested it on the wax paper to make sure it would "set" and then I added my almonds. The mix went from syrup to sugar nuts in about 30 seconds! I poured the nuts onto the wax paper and separated them apart with forks as much as I could but as soon as the nuts were cool enough to handle I broke the remaining clumps up with my hands. *Do NOT touch the nuts when they are hot!!* This is going to be a Christmas gift to a few lucky people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Easy, and GOOD! Just make sure you read the other reviews. You have to keep cooking it until all the liquid is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTNROO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. My daughter and I made a few batches to give as Christmas gifts to co-workers. After they cooled we scooped them into small gift bags and tied pretty ribbons to the bags. As I read on other reviews, the almonds have to stay cooking on stove until the mixture is dry! The house smells wonderful!! Thank you DarlaJo! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States