Canadian Yellow Split Pea Soup with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Made exactly as written until the end...I like it a little bit thinner so I added more water throughout and at the end. Flavor was still great! I had never used the yellow split peas before and I think it's pretty similar to green but I may not eat them enough to notice a difference. Either way it's enjoyable and I will make this again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Put in less split peas, more ham and veggies and added some "better than broth" chicken soup base. Very yummy. My son-in-law said it was better than his French-Canadian grandmother's soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My parents were both French Canadians and my mother always made pea soup with the yellow peas. She always said they're sweeter than using green split peas, I agree. I've made this soup in the same way for years whenever I've had a ham bone left over from a holiday. The only difference between my recipe and this one is that I use sweet basil instead of thyme. This is a hearty and satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Here

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is exactly how I remember split pea and ham soup. Very French and extremely delicious! I agree, you don't need to add salt - the ham is salty enough. I also add a few cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy to make and fantastic taste. Used a ham bone from one that we cooked on the smoker. The flavor is unbelievable. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Excellent. Added a big pinch of lemon thyme as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a very old recipe that they use in Quebec during the maple syrup season.If you visit one of their sugar shacks during the spring this will be on the menu. My husband's grandmother who is Quebeciose had this recipe from her great grandmother who lived during the 1800's. I would omit the salt becuase it is too strong with the ham bone and I had a packet of chicken stock to my soup but it's good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Ah, it's been a long time since I've found a true 5-star recipe. This was very, very good. I was looking for something close to Habitant Pea soup - this was much better, more like what 'ma mere' makes. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
First time I ever made it,was just delicious....we all loved it ....will keep making this ..so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Excellent taste. Even the kids liked it. Wouldn't add salt as the ham adds the salt flavour. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States