Canadian Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Me, my Thai wife and our little girl, all liked this, so quite a triumph. I prepared using a bread machine, maybe next time I would add something a little spicier. We sliced them in half, put in some jam and ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
The first time I have this doughnuts was in a farm fair in Ancaster. They called it "Elephant Ears", a French Canadian friend told me that they usually call it "Beaver Tails". Anyways, I found this bread tastes really great, crispy outside and soft & chewy inside. So I looked for the recipe here and tried to make it at my own kitchen. This recipe is good! Exactly the same thing that I had in the Fair! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Just like I use to have as a child.. wonderful a variation on a recipe my Grandmother used..She was from Ireland and then moved to Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent! I made these when I had lots of kids over and these doughnuts went so fast! I now get requests from these kids from time to time!! I didn't use the lemon though. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
These are good and VERY easy. I make half the recipe and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar but haven't tried the lemon juice. They usually puff up and are hollow when fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
they are excellent! we are going to use them for many diffrent dish ideas. easy to make to. i cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sooo good, kids loved them! Light and fluffy, full of taste. Lemon juice adds a nice zip to them. I tested the amount on the first doughnut, remember a little goes a long way. Add a small amount until you get the amount that is right for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Yummy ... we call these mini elephant ears on the west coast. My girlfriend, who is one, calls them Mormon Scones. Whatever they're called...they are deeeelicious!!! Shortcut...use Rhodes Frozen rolls and save a ton of time. Simply thaw on a cookie sheet, roll out & fry'em up. My 5 g'kids will eat 3 dz. faster than I can get them sugared & cinnamoned. I toss them in a brown paper sack with sugar & cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Oh my god they are so good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Thanks for the recipe!! It didn't turn out exactly like the ones bought from the Ottawa canal but they were still pretty good!! This recipe is sooooo close to my Grandmothers, just the smell of them brings back memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States