Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
I lived in Montreal for 5 years and because a friend had given me this recipe, I never had to go to the restaurant! As I had misplaced this recipe I was sure glad to find it here! This is also terrific for chicken! Finger lickin' good for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
A 3 1/2 star recipe as is. This recipe does NOT state what type of applesauce to use. Do NOT use sweetened! After reading reviews, I used *unsweetened* applesauce, cut back on the sugar by 1 cup and it was *still too sweet* (and I like sweet)! I added an additional 1/4 cup of ketchup and a few dashes of crushed red pepper flakes to tone the sweet down. I used this on ribs wrapped in foil and basted the last 1 hour every 15 minutes. Be careful because the sugar burns easily and it was hard to remove from the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Made this again with the ribs and this time we felt they were a little too sweet. After reading the reviews about how sweat it was I cut back the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Mixed everything together in bowl. Cut up ribs into two's, boiled baby back ribs (3 racks) for about 30 mins. Tossed sauce with the ribs in a roasting pan. Cooked for 1 hour with the lid on at 350 degrees. Took lid off and cooked for another 45 mins. at 325 degrees until carmelized. These were the best ribs I think I have ever had. We all can't wait to have them again. I only use pork baby back ribs because they are leaner. Can't wait to try the sauce on chicken also!! Thanks Wendy for a great sauce!! Update Sept.20/08-Made this again, haven't for a long time and now we find it way too sweet. I have been using Presidents Choice Smokin Stampede Chipotole for the last year and it's the best. I even cut the brown sugar in half again, sooo sweet, sorry not for us. Michele, Cambridge, Ontario Thanks Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Oh, my, God, this is good! This recipe deserves 10 stars. It is the best! I made it for a party, and everyone asked for the recipe. I've made it since then and my husband and I LOVE it!!! It's so easy, and doesn't require a lot of time to marinate. It's wonderful on ribs and chicken. To simplify eating the ribs, I cut the rack into individual ribs before marinating and then bake in the oven. It's easier than trying to cut them apart when they are covered in sauce and hot. I also recommend basting with this sauce during cooking. At least twice an hour. This sauce is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I made a few changes to this based on some of the past reviews. I made this using only about 4 tbsps of brown sugar. I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. I served this with italian sausage and brocolli stir fry with a side of white rice. My family loved this. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
This bbque sauce was really, really good... I added a few dashes of louisiana hot sauce and some red pepper flakes to add some zip... I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
YUM! If you like a sweet vs a more tangy BBQ sauce, this it the one! I needed something super easy with a homemade twist, so I threw 5 chicken breasts in the crock pot, covered with this sauce and cooked for 4 hrs on high and it came out perfect! My picky 3 yr old and hubby LOVED it! No left overs between the three of us. I'm going to mix a huge batch of this up and seal it in mason jars for use with other crockpot/grill recipes. My family will not eat bottled sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Love this sauce. Cut back to 1 cup of brown sugar as recommended by other users. My niece gets this sauce all over her face from trying to get all the sauce off the bone! I boil the ribs for 1 1/2 hours, sauce the ribs, then throw them into the oven, I baste after 5 mins on one side, throw 'em back in, turn them over, baste on the other side and then throw them back in for another 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This sauce is awsome, It kicks on most restauraunt ribs. Instead of marinating try cooking on low, turning often and basting every time you turn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This recipe is GREAT! Exactly like the Bar-B-Barn in Montreal. I will try this with chicken next time, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States