Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I added a tsp of cumin as well to add a touch of smokey flavor. I used this recipe on my pork spare ribs and they were the hit of the BBQ. So moist and sweet yet tangy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Delicious! My idea of what a BBQ sauce should be. I too cut the brown sugar, I used a little over a cup. I used the sauce as a baste on chicken breasts. The only disappointment was that I contaminated the sauce with the brush that i basted the chicken with and couldn't use the leftover for a dipping sauce for the chicken. Will make this again and again and can't wait to use it on ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I used this recipe exactly as described and it was wonderful. My kids loved it. The flavor is sweet and slightly spicy. If you don't like your sauce sweet then you probably can cut down on the brown sugar. For a party, I baked a rack of baby back ribs in this sauce, simmered the rest of it, and used it to baste on the bbq. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Oh my goodness! This is so different and so good! I was tired of the same ole BBQ recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Love this sauce. Cut back to 1 cup of brown sugar as recommended by other users. My niece gets this sauce all over her face from trying to get all the sauce off the bone! I boil the ribs for 1 1/2 hours, sauce the ribs, then throw them into the oven, I baste after 5 mins on one side, throw 'em back in, turn them over, baste on the other side and then throw them back in for another 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I made a few changes to this based on some of the past reviews. I made this using only about 4 tbsps of brown sugar. I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. I served this with italian sausage and brocolli stir fry with a side of white rice. My family loved this. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
As a Canadian living in the south of the USA, I must say that this is a VERY good sauce,eh! I fried some chicken, then poured the sauce over the chicken and baked it. I will use this sauce very often. It is sooooooo very tasty!!!! Thanks for the posting of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
AFTER READING ALL THE REVIEWS I COULD'NT WAIT TO TRY THIS SAUCE. WHAT A TOTAL DISAPOINTMENT. I CUT BACK THE BROWN SUGAR TO 1 CUP AND IT WAS STILL WAY TOO SWEET. DIDN'T TASTE ANYTHING LIKE A BBQ SAUCE. SORRY TO SAY I WONT BE USING THIS AGAIN. I GAVE IT 2 STARS BECAUSE THE APPLE SAUCE GAVE IT SOME BODY AND TEXTURE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
A tad bit too sweet for our tastes... Will cut back on the brown sugar next time. But there will be a next time, because it was a great tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Made this again with the ribs and this time we felt they were a little too sweet. After reading the reviews about how sweat it was I cut back the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Mixed everything together in bowl. Cut up ribs into two's, boiled baby back ribs (3 racks) for about 30 mins. Tossed sauce with the ribs in a roasting pan. Cooked for 1 hour with the lid on at 350 degrees. Took lid off and cooked for another 45 mins. at 325 degrees until carmelized. These were the best ribs I think I have ever had. We all can't wait to have them again. I only use pork baby back ribs because they are leaner. Can't wait to try the sauce on chicken also!! Thanks Wendy for a great sauce!! Update Sept.20/08-Made this again, haven't for a long time and now we find it way too sweet. I have been using Presidents Choice Smokin Stampede Chipotole for the last year and it's the best. I even cut the brown sugar in half again, sooo sweet, sorry not for us. Michele, Cambridge, Ontario Thanks Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States