Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I was just looking for something quick and easy (and not store bought) to make dinner for a few friends. I didn't read the reviews, but see now that I should have used unsweetened apple sauce. So, at first taste I thought it was too sweet. Added a bit more salt and cayenne pepper. The boys were pleased. I didn't make this on the grill. I dusted chicken breast strips with Cajun seasoning, cooked in a skillet with just a bit of olive oil, placed on a baking sheet and covered with sauce, baking for about 10 min on 350. I would make it again, but would definitely try the unsweetened apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I don't know what Canadian Barn is, but when I saw a recipe with these ingredients, I had to try it. I used unsweetened applesauce and cut the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups, but otherwise followed the recipe. I found the flavor great and the sweetness spot on. The recipe relies solely on black pepper and cinnamon for heat and if I was to play with it a bit, I would maybe add in some ground cayenne just to kick it up a notch. I also am a fan of the traditional BBQ taste, so I think maybe an addition of vinegar and perhaps some Jim Beam for that woody flavor would be nice additions. This recipe needs NONE of my suggestions to be great, but you could go many different directions with a few tweaks. Thank you for a great recipe that I WILL use again in some shape or form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Sweet and sticky! I put chicken legs in the crock pot, added the ingredients for the sauce and left it for 4 hours. Very tasty, I will make it again with ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Just made this for the first time. Following advice from other reviews I cut the sugar to 1 cup and when all mixed I cooked on low heat to melt the sugar. This is very close in flavor to a BBQ sauce I had years ago in AL and my hubby is very happy I found this. Will be a big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Added honey to the recipe and love the sweet and tangy taste. Also love the way it sticks to the meat rather then running off into the flames:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Just what I was looking for!! I LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Just made this sauce for Ribs tonight.So good.Can't stop licking my fingers. LOL. Made recipe as is and does not need ANY changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I didn't try this, but my boys did. I used the sauce on pork ribs that were baked using the slow-cooking oven method and they came out great. Love that this doesn't call for any non-staple ingredients and was easy to throw together. I'm sure this would be equally good on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Megan Frint Schow
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Love this Sauce! I make pulled pork with it and serve the pulled pork over Vanilla Ice Cream its so sweet. Even my kids and their picky eating habits are no match for this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Frint Schow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Really good BBQ sauce that is VERY sweet, which for my taste is great. Works better as a marinade though or a glaze than as a sauce on the side in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States