Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was my first BBQ sauce I ever made from scratch. I sub'd w/lime juice since I had no lemon juice. It was overall a bit sweeter than I've had before but something different. Best of all my BF loved it and wants me to make a whole bottle next time. We used it as an extra sauce on the side at the table. I added to the top of basic baked chicken as an afterthought and it tasted just fine. (I'm sure better if marinated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha in NYC
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We were not amused by this recipe. The sauce had a flat, unpleasant taste to it and the applesauce gave it a grainy texture. It didn't glaze the ribs, but instead, just sat on them and looked dry and unappealing. What a waste of all those ribs I used it on. Most had to be tossed because this sauce tasted so lousy on them. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I made this sauce and used it for grilling chicken on a bbq. This stuff is GREAT. I already passed teh recipe on to friends. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLDRUMS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I added a tsp of cumin as well to add a touch of smokey flavor. I used this recipe on my pork spare ribs and they were the hit of the BBQ. So moist and sweet yet tangy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Delicious! My idea of what a BBQ sauce should be. I too cut the brown sugar, I used a little over a cup. I used the sauce as a baste on chicken breasts. The only disappointment was that I contaminated the sauce with the brush that i basted the chicken with and couldn't use the leftover for a dipping sauce for the chicken. Will make this again and again and can't wait to use it on ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I used this recipe exactly as described and it was wonderful. My kids loved it. The flavor is sweet and slightly spicy. If you don't like your sauce sweet then you probably can cut down on the brown sugar. For a party, I baked a rack of baby back ribs in this sauce, simmered the rest of it, and used it to baste on the bbq. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Kong-Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Oh my goodness! This is so different and so good! I was tired of the same ole BBQ recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Love this sauce. Cut back to 1 cup of brown sugar as recommended by other users. My niece gets this sauce all over her face from trying to get all the sauce off the bone! I boil the ribs for 1 1/2 hours, sauce the ribs, then throw them into the oven, I baste after 5 mins on one side, throw 'em back in, turn them over, baste on the other side and then throw them back in for another 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
I made a few changes to this based on some of the past reviews. I made this using only about 4 tbsps of brown sugar. I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. I served this with italian sausage and brocolli stir fry with a side of white rice. My family loved this. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
As a Canadian living in the south of the USA, I must say that this is a VERY good sauce,eh! I fried some chicken, then poured the sauce over the chicken and baked it. I will use this sauce very often. It is sooooooo very tasty!!!! Thanks for the posting of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States