Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I made this tonight for the family and everyone loved it. I marinated the ribs last night and left them in the fridge, then this afternoon at 1pm I put them in the oven at 250 covered. I took the foil off at 4pm and let them cook uncovered for an additional hour. I basted them every 15 min that last hour. It was a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will reduce the brown sugar by half. The meat absolutely fell off the bone. Delicious!!! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I admit I was skeptical, but this was fabulous....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This sauce is great, I make it with chicken all the time. Just a great sweet bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Okay, really, this recipe is the bomb! My family won't let us make any other kind of bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I doubled the recipe because I had two racks of baby back ribs to deal with. (I should have made more...I ran out of sauce while BBQing) I took everyone's advice and used less sugar...2 cups loosely packed brown sugar...it wasn't sweet enough. Next time I'll pack the sugar and see what happens. I only gave the sauce 3 stars because although it was good...it wasn't spectacular. I almost felt like the flavour of the sauce was lost on the ribs. Maybe it will improve with a little more sugar and longer marinade time. I wonder if it would work well in the slow cooker? UPDATE: I tried this recipe again with ribs only this time I cooked the ribs slowly (300F) in the sauce in my table-top roaster oven. I used packed sugar this time instead of losely packed like I did before, so the sauce was a little sweeter. Cooking the ribs slowly in the sauce made all the difference. I won't change the 3 stars though because although it was good, it wasn't spectacular. The biggest pain was having to use oven cleaner to remove all the baked on sauce from the roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
In a word... YUM! I used this on some chicken breasts on the grill, marinated them for about an hour before grilling and then basted while they were cooking. I had set some aside to use for dipping when we were eating. Maybe a touch too sweet for my taste, I think next time I'll make a batch with a little less brown sugar. But still... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEKRZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I can't even start to explain how wonderful this sauce was. It was a little sweet but it beats the everyday bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was my first BBQ sauce I ever made from scratch. I sub'd w/lime juice since I had no lemon juice. It was overall a bit sweeter than I've had before but something different. Best of all my BF loved it and wants me to make a whole bottle next time. We used it as an extra sauce on the side at the table. I added to the top of basic baked chicken as an afterthought and it tasted just fine. (I'm sure better if marinated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha in NYC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We were not amused by this recipe. The sauce had a flat, unpleasant taste to it and the applesauce gave it a grainy texture. It didn't glaze the ribs, but instead, just sat on them and looked dry and unappealing. What a waste of all those ribs I used it on. Most had to be tossed because this sauce tasted so lousy on them. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I made this sauce and used it for grilling chicken on a bbq. This stuff is GREAT. I already passed teh recipe on to friends. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLDRUMS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States