Canadian Bacon Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I did add a few things to add a bit more zip. I added some dry mustard to the butter/flour minture. When i fried the bacon i added some minced garlic and finely diced onion. This recipe doesn't call for salt but i am glad i added it. It really brought all the flavours together. Although this is a simple recipe and easy to make, be prepared for lots of cleanup (lots of dishes):). I would definately make this again...its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Oh my gosh.. this is one of the best recipes I have found on this site. I do not make any variations and it's delicious. One suggestion would be to not fry the canadian bacon too long because I have done that and it's not as good when those peices are chewy or hard,I use the little 50 cent sized canadian bacon thats made to put on pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
My girlfriend and I both loved this recipe. I used a can of Italian style stewed tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and it turned out incredible. The Canadian bacon really adds a nice flavor. Very good as leftovers also. Will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe. To make this a little more personal, I added a little Frank's Hot Sauce, a couple teaspoons of italian seasoning and another cup of cheese. This is almost like goulash. Doubled recipe, no leftovers. Husband ate what everyone else didn't. I absolutely think double the cheese is crucial. My kids thought canadian bacon in macaroni and cheese was great. Next time, I'll add some sauteed onion/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My boyfriend found this recipe and made it for me because I was missing food from home. I have to say that this is the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had! I could eat the entire pot to myself I love it that much. Definetly worth a try! I have it every few weeks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I liked this recipe but no one els in the family did. It doesn't have a whole bunch of flavor so if you are looking for something that will wow people this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
When deciding what "side" to make for tonight, my roommate has his heart set on mac n cheese and I had a craving for onion rings (not sure why). Well, we compromised and made both! I have never made homemade mac n cheese but this recipe looked interesting and easy for a beginner. On the first try, I followed the recipe exactly...but after adding the chedded cheddar cheese...it began to get clumpy and greasy. I threw it out and started the cheese sauce again, only instead of cheddar I used american cheese. Well, at least this was creamier but I didn't like it any better. Besides my roommate, who thought this was "okay," no one really liked this. As I was about to throw what was left, my roommate said he'd just eat the leftovers tommorrow at work...which was the only thing that saved these from going in the trash. I attribute the failure partly due to my inexperience in making homemade mac n cheese but I will try to gain experience from other mac n cheese recipes found on this site. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I also added a bread crumb topping to add a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Not a favorite. Not bad, just not the really yummy comfort food I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANDREWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
Good recipe. Just add salt, pepper, garlic, and your Italian seasonings. -Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States