Canadian Bacon Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe. To make this a little more personal, I added a little Frank's Hot Sauce, a couple teaspoons of italian seasoning and another cup of cheese. This is almost like goulash. Doubled recipe, no leftovers. Husband ate what everyone else didn't. I absolutely think double the cheese is crucial. My kids thought canadian bacon in macaroni and cheese was great. Next time, I'll add some sauteed onion/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I absolutley didn't like it. there was no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
i followed the recipe at first, when i added the cheese to the flour/butter mixture it turned into pretty much a solid rock, i added some milk to get the sauce to the creamy texture i prefer. and it turned out good, some salt and pepper would be good for a bit of extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was excellent! I added some garlic/onions like others had suggested. Also added abit of Tabasco/Worchestershire sauce - along with about a 1/4 thick Greek yoghurt. I topped it off with about 7 Saltines that had been crushed mixed with abit of Mrs. Dash and left over grated cheese. I placed this all into a casserole dish, and cooked for about 30 minutes until it bubbled and topping was brown at 350F. Served with a side salad - perfect meal for a diabetic gal like myself (am Type 1 of 42 years - like to watch my carbs - but this little "cheat" meal was so worth it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I sauteed red onions, garlic, roasted red peppers, and mushrooms with the bacon (I used turkey) and added S & P & garlic salt - yum! Added milk (1-2 cups) to make a true cheese sauce and used Italian style diced toms after everything was mixed together and topped it with shredded cheese...... Okay base but needs all this to get it to 5 stars. SMELLS Good! TASTES GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
All was going good until step 3 when i starting mixing it all together, the mix went "ultra" glugly and was hardly eatable, but i saved the recipe by adding bolongse pasta sauce, although then the food had a weird texture, but was still delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nita
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For the macaroni and cheese, we used diced tomatoes. I think that it could have been better with a little bit of milk help melt the cheese to make it creamier. Overall, it was a unique and almost Italian twist on the macaroni and cheese we are used to. It is really tasty and I'm sure with a little adjustments it could be a meal everyone could enjoy. Even my mom and my brother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I liked this recipe but no one els in the family did. It doesn't have a whole bunch of flavor so if you are looking for something that will wow people this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I tried it and used stewed tomatoes. My sister and nephew loved it. I thought it was good and very easy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My boyfriend found this recipe and made it for me because I was missing food from home. I have to say that this is the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had! I could eat the entire pot to myself I love it that much. Definetly worth a try! I have it every few weeks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States