Canada Day Nanaimo Bar Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
What a nice cheesecake this is! I was not able to find custard powder. I Goggled it to see what this was and then substituted instant vanilla pudding. I did make mine in a 9x13 and served as bars. Next time I would use a spring form pan, the first bars would have been easier to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is a brilliant take on the classic Nanaimo Bar recipe. This version isn't as rich as the original recipe, which is great for someone like me who isn't a total fan of the bars (it's still rich as far as cheesecakes go, though). I chose to make this in a 9" springform pan for the classic good looks of a cheesecake, thus I halved the filling, but kept to the orginal scale for the crust and topping. I may not have crushed my cookies as much as the recipe intended, as there was just enough to cover the bottom of the pan. There was just enough ganache to top the cheesecake as well. Turned out very impressive looking on the serving table and was definitely enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Oh Canada! Great recipe. Bird's Eye custard is a little tough to find and NO - don't substitute instant pudding - it is not the same and will not give you an authentic Canadian Nanaimo Bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Yummy! Instead of custard powder, I used sfff cheesecake flavored pudding mix. I didn't use coconut because we are not fans. Perfect! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I couldn't find custard powder at my grocery and googled it to find out you could sub equal parts corn starch. I did this, plus added some vanilla bean and 1 tsp vanilla extract b/c I read that custard powder is vanilla flavored. It turned out delicious! Makes an impressive dessert and great because you can cut up beforehand. Also, I topped half the pan with toasted almond slivers, which turned out to be preferred. I agree with another reviewer though- next time I think I will use milk chocolate for the top as I think the semi-sweet was a bit much. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was a good cheesecake, but not my favorite. Bird's Custard Powder was available in my Cub Store, but in the International Foods aisle and not by the puddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
LOW FAT VERSION. but just as good- made in pie plate- 1 sleeve of cookies and chopped pecans and added enough coconut to cover the pie plate and added just enough melted butter to coat. For the center I only had 1 PKG of cream cheese so while i mixed that up with 1/2 c sugar I added 3 TBSP of sour cream and then a bit of milk and 3 TBSP of the birds custard powder. baked for 30 min...took it out of the over and right away placed a cup of chocolate chips on top and let them melt on their own about 15 min and then smoothed it over. was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was pretty good! Next time I'll probably put it in a smaller baking dish because I'd like to have a thicker choc crust! :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
just wonderful! very thick, tastes like cheescake should! good texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I love it! I add a bit more custard powder for more flaver and only use 2 packs of cream cheese and 2 eggs. It makes a thinner and cheaper snack. Tastes like a mellowed nanaimo bar! Thank you! It's my new fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.kyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States