Canada Day Nanaimo Bar Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
followed the recipe exactly. it looks just like the photo. it tasted pretty good, but was absolutely nothing like a nanaimo bar, except in looks. so that was quite disappointing. it's more just a chocolate topped cheesecake. i didn't bother checking while baking and just pulled it out at 40 minutes. it was a bit overbaked, so check around 30-35 minutes. also, i had no problem finding custard powder, maybe it's not something normally stocked in american grocery stores? (i'm in canada.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Made these for Canada Day and my mother cried tears of joy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
WOW!!! These were fantastic, everyone raved about them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy N Jason Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was SO good! I did everything as written but I used French Vanilla pudding mix in place of the custard powder since I could not find it. YUM!Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I like the cheesecake idea! I did not use Oreo cookie crust recipe though. I used the traditional Nanaimo bar crust recipe. With milk chocolate chip and a little less cream for a firm top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Get Bird's Custard mix on the international food aisle of larger grocery stores. It's a British import. Also available at Cost Plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I liked the idea, but part of the joy of nanaimo squares is the super sweetness, and this cheesecake just didn't have it. I rated it 4 as everyone else liked it, the idea is awesome, just my personal opinion differed from everyone elses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a really cool idea for a cheesecake and it worked out really well. The only thing was I was expecting more of a nanaimo bar taste, but it gets 5 stars for looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Such a wonderful recipe to have. Tastes wonderful and pretty easy to make. Follow the recipe exactly and you get a delicious dessert. I couldn't find heavy cream anywhere so I used whipping cream and it turn out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was pretty good! Next time I'll probably put it in a smaller baking dish because I'd like to have a thicker choc crust! :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States