Campfire Vidalias Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Totally awsome with garlic,I have tried this recipe many times, always a great item. Another way is to core the top of onion and put a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of brown sugar instead of garlic, comes out carmalized. Vidalia Onions are a gift from God!!! (P.S. works in microwave[wrap in paper towels] also for inside camping)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This was AWESOME and we did it on the grill instead of campfire. It tastes like french onion soup on your plate! ... went very nicely with the steaks we grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
We do this all the time on our gas grill. I use heavy duty foil, put them on the bottom for about 10 minutes move them to the top and cook for about 20 minutes more...they are so-o-o good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe was okay, but nothing to rave about. The butter and garlic was not enough spice. The onion should not be cut but rather the spices should be inside the onion. ( in my recipe I use whole onions and core a little out from the middle but not enough to go through the bottom, then place a bouillon cube and butter then pepper. Wrap in heavy duty foil and bake or place in hot coals.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
I just threw this over the coals of our grill while we cooked dinner and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This recipe tasted ok but didn't "wow" us. We are very simple campers, and for us it was more of a hassle than it was worth to bring the items neccessary to make this. It was good to try once, but we probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I saw this recipe on a cooking show, but the only difference is to put crushed beef bouillon cubes on top and it tastes like french onion soup. It's awesome. You can even put it in the oven or on the grill (at least 25-30 mins) In fact I had one last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
Made this for supper and had our brother-in-law out and all liked it very much and since we raise a garden this was something differnet to use up vegetables. Will make it again. Julia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Amazing! This is so versatile you can create different variations. I do alter mine & have made several different ways & they always taste great. I add a beef bouillon cubes, Greek seasoning & a dash of Worchester and it tastes like French onion soup. Wrapped tightly in foil. I have also tried cinnamon & brown sugar for a different twist. Love it. Be creative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
OMG this is absolutely fabulous. You will be amazed at how wonderfully simple and delicious this is. I added some Greek seasoning...and instead of chopping up the garlic, I left it whole. Only made 1 onion (to share with hubby) and I wish that I would have made 2. Will continue to make at almost every BBQ. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States