Campfire Vidalias Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My son slices the onions down to the end, without cutting them apart. Then he adds cubed cream cheese, munster, colby (whatever) and stuffs the cracks. They are the hit of every cookout. They can be done on the grill, double wrapped in foil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These were tasty! My parents recommended a similar idea and I used this recipe to give it more oomph with the garlic. I baked mine in the oven at 450 as a grill wasn't available on my vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Great as is or try some of the reviewers suggestions - they are all great. If we don't fire up the grill for steaks, I'll bake these in the oven. Want to try the grill with apple or mesquite chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
We must have had a really hot fire, because ours burned to inedible in less than thirty minutes. Sad, because it looked like a really great recipe! I might try again, but check on them earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Amazing! This is so versatile you can create different variations. I do alter mine & have made several different ways & they always taste great. I add a beef bouillon cubes, Greek seasoning & a dash of Worchester and it tastes like French onion soup. Wrapped tightly in foil. I have also tried cinnamon & brown sugar for a different twist. Love it. Be creative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Awesome. I made this just as the recipe said, even putting them on the coal. Let them get caramelized. What a great camping treat, try the Shudderuppers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Made exactly as the recipes states and these were SO good! I'm going to try them at home too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I cooked them too long, but they were still out of this world if you are an onion lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Very good. I drizzled the onion with olive oil to make them slightly healthier. While the flavor was similar to a Blooming Onion without the breading I would have liked a little more something. To keep them healthy but add more flavor I think I will add a little balsamic vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
We do this all the time on our gas grill. I use heavy duty foil, put them on the bottom for about 10 minutes move them to the top and cook for about 20 minutes more...they are so-o-o good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States