Campfire Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Yummy!! I used a can of mixed vegetables (which already had potatoes & onions in it). Put a few globs of butter on it, sealed up my tin foil packet, and baked in the oven at 350F for 20 minutes. I took it out half way through and gave it a little shake. Turned out fantastic!!! I ate all my veggies before I even touched the rest of my meal! Looking forward to this making regular appearances at mealtimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've been doing this for years using fresh veggies, but I always forget to look at the time when I put them on the grill. My solution is simple. Take any color or clear nail polish and put an x (or if doing individual serving use an initial). When the nail polish turns black it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I do this all the time but omit the butter and use olive oil instead. I also had tablespoons of uncooked hamburg and a variety of veggies and peppers. It's a quick, delicious, no mess meal. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by In My LIfe
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The grill really added a delicious charcoal taste to this, and the butter completes the flavor & texture. Will make again! No changes made to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I halved this recipe, used diced red potatoes, vidalia onions, frozen corn and peas, used EVOO in place of butter. Since we grilled this packet on a charcoal fire I triple wrapped the foil, made sure all the veggies were flat in the foil and not heaped up and made sure to dice the potatoes very small. Will definitely make this again this summer and add fresh herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very good camping recipe. Easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This is a great snack during the day. I used 4 red potatoes instead of larger because I prefer less starch. I added frozen corn, peas, and crinkle-cut carrots and used a drizzle of olive oil (just enough to lightly coat) instead of butter and cooked for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I tried it in the oven and it took 30 minutes longer than the recipe said to cook the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beach lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Delicious!!!!!!! I didn't have the mixed vegetables so I used half frozen peas and half frozen corn. AWSOME!!! I will definatly make this again!!! Thanks much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This also works well with canned sliced potatoes. It cuts the cooking time in half. If using the bbq, make sure to turn the packets over occasionally to prevent burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States