Campfire Reubens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I have never liked the rye bread that local eateries use for reubens. The pumpernickel is why I tried this. I bought deli corned and roast beef, turkey and ham(kids are picky). Also used swiss, american, and pepperjack cheeses. I laid everything out on table and let each assemble their own to their liking. I made mine as stated in the recipe. Except we all used ff thousand island. This was excellent!! My fiance had never tried a reuben and fell in love with this. He tried one later at a local eatery and HATED it!! I swear its the rye... yuck. Anyway, we have made these on the grill, campfire, and in the oven. I dont check the time really, just check the food. The thicker ones were still cold in the middle when the kids sandwiches were done. We will definately keep making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This method reuined my ruebens, so I had to make a second batch with the skillet method. I was drawn to grilling because I do not have a large enough non-stick skillet to cook 2 sandwiches. I followed the directions to a T, and my bread was, burned, soggy, and stuck to the foil (along with the soggy mess of toppings). This was the only recipe which didn't call for buttering or oiling the bread prior to cooking, so I thought it would be a healthier alternative. From now on I will load the toppings on two slices of buttered rye and cook till golden and melted in a skillet (I'll either get a larger pan, or we'll eat at different times!) The recipe has flawless reviews other than mine, but it really didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
We loved these! Very simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I think you will find this much easier if you buy a set of campfire irons. We know them as "Pudgy Pie" irons. Don't go for the lightweight ones - be sure to get the heavy duty variety. Available at camping stores and in many dept store sports sections. They are also great for making pie sanwiches (bread and apple or cherry pie filling; PBJs (bread and peanut butter and jelly; Reeses sandwiches (bread, peanut butter and plain Hersey bars) Or whatever you can dream up. We've even done it with Prego and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I didn't mark down since the write-up mentions using as much or little as you like but 1/4 C dressing and wrapping a sandwich in foil can result in a soggy mess. We grill these in an openfaced fashion and use less sauce. You really can't tell when they are "lightly toasted" if they're all wrapped up. I don't like to use the meat and other fillings straight from the fridge because it's nearly impossible to grill them to a warmed through state without burning the bread. I also use "thousand island dressing" fromthis site but with Frank's Redhot rather than a sweet chili sauce. I have found that about 10 min on the grill is usually adequate and if the bread is toasting before the cheese melts you can easily slide them off the direct heat and let them finish without burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
These were very very good! I didn't get to grill them though, we were packing for a picnic and so I just made them cold and they were still very good...though I am sure they'd be even better warm and melty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Love this sandwich! I made this a couple of years ago while camping and just placed them on the fire grill. They turned out great and everyone loves them. Now we are going camping again and will make them again. Took me awhile to find this recipe again. Glad I found it! The only change I made was that I used sourdough rolls instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Excellent sandwich when camping or at home on the grill, easy to make and everybody loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States