Campfire Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
My husband and I like a lot of spice and these were too bland for us. The initial attempt required lots of added salt and pepper for extra flavor and the chicken broth/Worcestershire added almost no flavor. The second time I made them, I coated the slices in a big bowl with salt, pepper, italian seasoning, about 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes and some olive oil. Tossed to coat, placed potatoes on foil, didn't bother with onions, put slices of butter on top, sprinkled with plain shredded cheese and grilled. They were incredible and much easier than the original recipe. No matter how you cook them, you absolutely MUST spray your foil with a cooking spray or you will have a burnt, stuck-on mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Try making individual packages,with about half a medium potato each, sliced, and follow the recipe; leave the cheese out and cook as directed (I always omit the broth, add lots of butter, use double foil wrap and make sure it´s well sealed)When they are almost done, open package neatly making a "bowl" with the foil and add cheese, wait until cheese melts. I always serve it with the foil directly on the individual plate, with a rib eye steak and a skewer of shrimps. It looks award winning, and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
The worchestershire sauce in these adds a nice little touch I have not experienced in grilled potatoes before. I really liked it. Our grilled ran out of gas, so I had to cook these in the oven, I baked at 400 for 45 minutes and then had to microwave for another 10 because they weren't quite done. I will make again, they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This concept is great. When i made these for the first time i added a some fresh garlic, fresh chives and fresh rosemary. Definately pepped up the flavor of the dish. I had problems with sticking to the foil and i didn't use anything like pam. I did keep turning the packet on the fire. Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
These were very good. I used swiss cheese instead of cheddar, just because that is what I had on hand, and I reduced the amount of butter to 2 T, since the cheese and broth were really sufficent to cook and flavor the potatoes. Very easy, very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Very good side dish for any BBQ dinner. I put mine in a BBQ foil bag and set it on the BBQ for about 40 min and it was done. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This was easy to make, but lacked flavor. I usually grill my potatoes this way, but without the cheese. It would be much easier to just sprinkle the grated cheese over the potatoes after they are done. No burnt cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
These were terrific. I took some of the advice listed and sprayed the foil with Pam. I also added some fresh cilantro along with the parsley. Very tasty. Great with barbecued chicken. We loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
The only problem I had was the bottom potatoes stuck to the tinfoil. Next time I will spray the tinfoil with pam and flip the potatoes regularly. besides that it was a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Very good. Next time, I will definitely use pam. The entire bottom layer was stuck to the foil. Might try a big more cheese next time. My kids loved them too. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States