Campfire Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This recipe is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This concept is great. When i made these for the first time i added a some fresh garlic, fresh chives and fresh rosemary. Definately pepped up the flavor of the dish. I had problems with sticking to the foil and i didn't use anything like pam. I did keep turning the packet on the fire. Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
We thought these were ok - nothing spectacular though. I didn't use as much butter as recommended, and I used more onion and Worcestershire sauce. We both felt that the cheese added nothing to the dish (apart from extra calories!). I make a similar dish that we prefer - so I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
My husband and I like a lot of spice and these were too bland for us. The initial attempt required lots of added salt and pepper for extra flavor and the chicken broth/Worcestershire added almost no flavor. The second time I made them, I coated the slices in a big bowl with salt, pepper, italian seasoning, about 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes and some olive oil. Tossed to coat, placed potatoes on foil, didn't bother with onions, put slices of butter on top, sprinkled with plain shredded cheese and grilled. They were incredible and much easier than the original recipe. No matter how you cook them, you absolutely MUST spray your foil with a cooking spray or you will have a burnt, stuck-on mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This was easy to make, but lacked flavor. I usually grill my potatoes this way, but without the cheese. It would be much easier to just sprinkle the grated cheese over the potatoes after they are done. No burnt cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Very good. Next time, I will definitely use pam. The entire bottom layer was stuck to the foil. Might try a big more cheese next time. My kids loved them too. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
The worchestershire sauce in these adds a nice little touch I have not experienced in grilled potatoes before. I really liked it. Our grilled ran out of gas, so I had to cook these in the oven, I baked at 400 for 45 minutes and then had to microwave for another 10 because they weren't quite done. I will make again, they were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I cannot fairly rate this recipe, as I saw another reviewer used an oven to cook these, and I tried it that way, too. I wish the person would've said how long and what temp they cooked them. I did mine at 450 for 45 mins, and they still weren't done. I don't have a grill, as I live on the 3rd floor with no balcony, but these sounded so good! I ended up dumping them in a frying pan, and they still ended up pretty good. I'm going camping in August, and have every intention of making these over a campfire! I can't wait, because I really think these potatoes have potential. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Very tasty but extremely greasy! Next time I'm only going to use 1/2 the amt. of oleo called for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
They were OK. Not something I would crave. I might make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States