Campfire Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These were very nice for a change- and a good way to spruce up canned green beans. However I would recommened cooking the onions and garlic for 3-4 minutes before adding the almonds. Then cook the almonds for 1/2 minutes before adding the greenbeans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I loved the flavors and added more garlic. I think fresh green beans would be better though. The canned green beans tend to get mushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEILA035

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gordon, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
My family loved these green beans. My niece said these were the best green beans she'd ever eaten. Refrigerating them overnight and heating them up the next day really heightened the flavor. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Glenda, these are wonderful. My family detests most canned veggies, so I used frozen (against your better judgement) This side dish was awesome with frozen beans.I will be making these alot this summer when I have fresh ones from my garden!I bet it will be super delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe. I substituted frozen French cut green beans instead of using canned. I made this dish for Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I'm always looking for recipes that are low in saturated fat. This one is great because is uses oil instead of butter, and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was an easy recipe. We cooked this ahead of time and then reheated on our camp stove as suggested. It was a little bland. I think it could use some spices or something. I even doubled up on the garlic but it still was bland. Also, if I were to do it again I'd toast the almonds first. But, I probably would make this again if I went camping with some slight alterations because it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These were excellent! Made them earlier in day, and just microwaved them for about a minute before serving, sprinkled with herb seasonings, too. Top notch flavour, easy, and can be prepared well in advance for quick serving at dinner. My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
These were very easy to make. I used frozen reg. grn beans and had precooked them in the microwave first for about 5 mins. and then used the skillet and they were awesome. Came out very tender and the flavor is wonderful with the garlic and lovethe texture with the almonds. Very Easy to warm at campsite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Easy to make recipe although amount of garlic recommended is extremely high. Use less garlic to enhance the taste of the beans. Overall, though, an excellent bean variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States