Campfire Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These were very nice for a change- and a good way to spruce up canned green beans. However I would recommened cooking the onions and garlic for 3-4 minutes before adding the almonds. Then cook the almonds for 1/2 minutes before adding the greenbeans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I seldom make snap beans, as I don't care for the texture. These, though, were very superior!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akatsukami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I used canned beans and was very happy with the results. Definite family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These were excellent! Made them earlier in day, and just microwaved them for about a minute before serving, sprinkled with herb seasonings, too. Top notch flavour, easy, and can be prepared well in advance for quick serving at dinner. My kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Great way to make a can of greenbeans more exciting. I really liked the almonds. It gave it more texture with the crunchiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Thanks for this easy recipe! I'm not an outdoors person so I can't comment on how these would taste over a campfire but they made a great indoor side dish for me. I used canned beans as suggested but I think I will try frozen ones next time because I like green beans crispier. Even with canned though, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Not sure why people got so enthused about this recipe ... tasted like canned green beans with almonds. Not sure what I expected, but kind of disappointing. Might be OK for camping fare, but wasn't worth serving as an extra vegetable with my Christmas ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Easy, Easy, Easy!! I made this without the almonds and thought that it was wonderful. I now cannot eat green beans unless I've cooked them this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Very nice recipe. I used fresh green beans and they were delicious for dinner at home, but I am unsure of how well they would travel if you were to take them camping. As others noted, I would use a bit less olive oil than originally suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Delicious green bean mixture! Although I didn't heat them up over a campfire, I did make them and served them hot, right from the stove. A great tasting side dish that the kids just love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States