Campfire Foil Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This has always been one of my favorite camping and easy dinner recipes. I change it around depending on what I have on hand. It's great with fish, too. We use orange roughy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
These were great! We prepared them at home before we left and threw them in the cooler. It was nice that we could customize what each person wanted in their foil pack. We cooked them on the campfire while we finished setting up camp. They were a great time saver for the first night of camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H0neybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good! I added some extra veggies, like green beans, carrots, ect. My husband hates green beans, so let me tell you, I was absolutely shocked when I saw him eat one and say he thought it was really good! So any recipe that does something like that for my husband deserves a five star rating! Instead of smaller sheets of aluminium foil, find the extra long, heavy duty foil. We only used two long sheets of it. Very, very good recipe that we will use again when we go camping (or just over the hot coals of our grill)! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I cooked it on the grill and it came out really nice. Very flavorful and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
The kids thought this was such an adventure while we were camping, It was a easy way to start off our trip. With 6 kids with us every one could create their pack the way they liked it. I pre-cut the veggies,that made it real fast when we got to camp. The best part was everyone put it on a paper plate so no dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These were very good, it just took me a couple tries to figure out the right amount of time to put it in the fire. My first attempt (trying the suggested cook time) came out completely burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this over the weekend for my husband while we were camping in northern Arizona. I cut the recipe in 1/2 because it was only 2 of us. He loved it. Next time I'll use the whole recipe because he said their wasn't enough. One thing I will do, is remember to turn the packed over every 10 minutes so it won't burn. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this for a group of 10 while camping. It was nice to be able to make it in advance - I added the potatoes along with everything else, but didn't add the mushrooms until before putting on the grill because I didn't want to chance having them turn brown. Since I had 12 packets, this was kind of a lot of work, and I would really prefer not to have to do it that way again. Next time I may chance having the shrooms turn dark! This was very good, and everyone aged 10 through 66 liked it very much , but personally, I thought it was a little bland. Make sure to add some kind of seasoning. I added salt, pepper and Montreal Chicken Seasoning, but I think it could have used even more of something. Very good, but just needs a little "oomph".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUBEENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Didn't care for the lemon juice. I've been making this for many years and thought I would actually follow a recipe this time. It was edible but the lemon flavor ruined the overall dish. Might just be our personal taste and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I do this recipe at home ALL the time :) Instead of peppers I usually do zucchini and a little of Emeril's BAM spice! Awesome!! I have even used couscous instead of potatoes when I do it on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States