Campfire Foil Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I have made these many times, every time we go camping! I do have changes though that make it really good. I use hamburger instead of chicken. I also use potatoes, green peppers and onions. Lastly, I do not use oil, it makes the food really oily, I put a little butter and 2 ice cubs in the foil, this keeps everything really moist. I will put some of each in nonstick foil, throw in fire...and you have a fantastic dinner. Add some corn on the cob and you have a mighty fine dinner with almost no cleanup! Try it on the grill too, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
We use chicken thighs, which protects the chicken and gives a great flavor. we also add a drop water and a pat of butter, leave a little air for expansion when wrapping, and turn over on the coals when you start to smell the food cooking. we also use everglades seqsoning. it is really good and a standard meal for our camp trips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This came out great! I kept it in the coals for a good 40 minutes, resulting in some of the food getting blackened, which actually improved the taste. I also ended up using about 5 sheets of foil, 2 sheets just wasn't stronge enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My grandma taught me to make this when I was in middle school. I've always just cooked it in the oven. Since I have such a sweet tooth i use Dorthy Lynch dressing instead of the oil and lemon juice. I also use baby carrots(sliced in half if they are very thick) instead of the mushrooms. My grandma would also make them with a hamburger and some ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyellen_08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garnett, Kansas, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
delicious flavor but found the potatoes were a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
needed more flavoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I altered this recipe with lemon & pepper and cooked it in my oven @ 500 degrees for 50 minutes to glorious results. I will use it again & highly recommend this version of a timeless classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerederd67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe is Awesome! I have seriously been waiting all winter to go camping again to make it. The only thing we changed and this was just on our vegetable preference, we added Zucchini, more mushrooms and 2 yellow bell peppers instead of the one red one. I'm getting hungry just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharipassey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I left out the peppers because no one here likes them but my family loved this one so much we don't wait till we're camping to make it. I do it right on the BBQ grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Kind of bland, definitely better with salt and a little pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States