Campfire Foil Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Made some this weekend and they were so good! We were camping a few nights so we brought the veggies in 1 bag and brought frozen chicken tenderlions in another. Just tossed chicken in the veggie/sauce bag at lunchtime and foiled them at dinner time!! Thanks for this new camping favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have not tried this exact recipe but, I make these with my Girl Scout Troop and we love them. Each girl can make her's the way she wants and it is always a hit. They do not all like the same things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is just like one of the recipes I recreated at home from my years of summer camp in the '60s. It's a great go-to when you have a house full of people or disjointed schedules. A few tricks. We often have veggie trays with dinner and make foil packs, using the leftovers, the next night. If it don't have leftovers to use, I cut up a variety of vegetables ahead of time and put them in individual plastic bags. Everyone makes their own. We just double heavy duty foil and do it envelope style. Potatoes cook best if they're on the bottom of the pack. Season to your individual tastes. Salt, pepper, taco seasoning, chili powder, chicken seasoning . . . Use chicken, ground pork, beef or chicken/turkey - whatever you like - but crumble it at the top of your pile and place a small ice cube on top. You can add ketchup, steak sauce, taco or enchilada sauce to the top before sealing and .cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Could have used a little less onion and garlic and more veggies I think but we all enjoyed it and I was easy to warm up over the fire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This is such an easy and fun camping meal. I like to prepare a selection of cut-up meats and veggies and bring a couple of different sauces, like teriyaki and BBQ. You can set it out buffet-style and let people make their own creations. Use plastic forks and you have a delicious dinner with ZERO dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I make something similar but I put about 3 or 4 ice cubes on top of the mixture before sealing up the packages this reduces the chances of anything burning. The ice cubes melt and creates steam which also cooks the ingredients. As for making it more spicy add seasoning salt or any other spices. I must add I have never added chicken or any other meat to the foil method of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Evans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumby, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This was ok, it definitely needs seasoning as it is really bland. Maybe some fresh herbs or some seasoning blends. Will try again but next time seasoned up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is so easy and delicious! You can add.substitute any veggie you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Ok, I did something wrong. I tried this this week while on vacation and it burnt so bad you couldn't get the foil open. I put it "in the coals" like it said and checked it after 20 min. and it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Love this! I learned about this because Cracker Barrel has it as a special its called Campire Chicken..so i had to search for it! But the chicken was so tender and juicy and everything had great flavor and clean up was nice and easy! Also i made it in the oven at 350 for 45 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States